Please can someone explain what benefits Carrara has over Hexagon/Bryce/Ds

tdrdtdrd Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

I have been fiddling with DazStudio/Bryce/Hexagon for a few months now and am hitting problems where Bryce will not let me pose characters from DS without passing the characters in every change. Nor will DS bring Bryce scenes in with all the detail I have beforehand.

Is Carrara an additional add in to the suite or a bundled package? Is it supposed to be able to do all the things the other packages do in one place then?

I see the advertising hype about what results it can produce but not enough to convince me to buy it (yet). Will it replace the above mentioned three packages or is it another package to do more?

Thank you everyone for any feedback. I guess a lot of other people out there would also like to know why they should look at C too.

Terry

Comments

• JoeMamma2000JoeMamma2000 Posts: 2,615
    edited December 1969

That's a real tough question. A lot depends on what you want to do, and a lot depends on personal preference.

I can give my personal views it that helps.

In terms of modelling, Carrara has it, but IMO Hexagon is far better. So I rarely (if ever) use Carrara for modelling.

For landscapes, I despise Bryce because of the lack of OpenGL display and slow rendering, so I never use it. Carrara is far better, IMO.

Daz Studio has a lot of features Carrara doesn't have. Though personally, I started with Daz Studio and then moved to Carrara for a bunch of reasons. Mainly, as I recall, because of the deadly slow render time in D/S and I just didn't like the interface. And Carrara had some nice landscape features.