UV Tailor

13»

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 96,858

I'm really new to Daz overall.  So, forgive me for such a basic question.  But, does UV tailor export edited skin sets to a new .duf that installs into the Materials category, so I can immediately use my new skin as an option?

Does this mess up the original skin?

I ask because I have edited textures using the Photoshop Bridge.  But, it was somewhat of a pain to create a new .duf and install it in the materials.  I did a face texture but could not get it to load without overwriting the original (which I didn't really want to do).  I wanted to make a new option, not replace the original.

Also, is the texture edited in UV Tailor, or is it edited in Photoshop, then imported into UV Tailor?

I'm just hoping to have an easy way to create my own skins from photos as options for my Daz characters.

None of the above - UV Tailor produces the templates showing which bits of the mesh take which bits of an image map, as a guide when creating textures. it doesn't create or edit textures and it doesn't edit the UV maps.

When creating a new texture in an image editor you need to save it as an image file, then apply it to the surface(s) it is for in the Surface pane and adjust settings as needed, once done save as a Materials preset.

So, it sounds like I don't really need UV tailor to make a new skin.  I just need to use an existing skin as a template and save it as a new skin name, then import the skin with the surfaces tab....then save as a material preset.

Correct me if I'm missing a step.

How do I create the new bump map to go with the new texture?  .