pwCatch tutorial?

13»

Comments

• AtiAti Posts: 9,082
    edited September 2015
    Ati2 said:

Syphonaptera, I haven't bought pwCatch yet, so I cannot try it alongside the tutorial, but the tutorial from the first answer ( http://poseworks.com/shaders/pwcatch/ ) seems pretty detailed to me. Have you seen that?

I did , but it gets me no where It doesn't explain anything!! Do you think it does?

http://poseworks.com/shaders/pwcatch/pages/applying.html

if so then what do I miss? Soemthing becomes blue, sometimes something gets red....yellow....wth??

I only did basic shadowcatching with it, and it worked fine.

Here are the steps I did. Please note that I'm a total newbie, this will be pretty much my second render with it. Lights deliberately messed up to better demonstrate shadows.

Step 1: Load figure into scene.

Step 2: Create distant light, set it to cast shadows. (See settings on right.)

Step 3: Add a new plane.

Step 4: Select the plane, and in the Sufraces tab, apply the pwCatch shader to it. (See settings on right.)

Step 5: Configure shader: Use backdrop: off, catch reflections: off, shadow mode: catch shadows. (See settings on right.)

Step 6: Add backdrop image.

Step 7: Align plane with backdrop ground level.

Step 8: Render in 3Delight.

pw1.png
    1920 x 1040 - 691K
    pw2.png
    1920 x 1040 - 678K
    pw3.png
    1920 x 1040 - 547K
    pw4.png
    1920 x 1040 - 818K
    pw5.png
    1920 x 1040 - 596K
    pw6.png
    1920 x 1040 - 1M
    pw7.png
    1920 x 1040 - 2M
    pw8.png
    1000 x 651 - 2M
    Post edited by Ati on
  • mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001

Awesome tut, Ati2...

The basics work for any shadowcatcher (yes, pwcatch is a bit more than a simple shadowcatcher).

• KeryaKerya Posts: 10,943
    Ati2 said:

Syphonaptera, I haven't bought pwCatch yet, so I cannot try it alongside the tutorial, but the tutorial from the first answer ( http://poseworks.com/shaders/pwcatch/ ) seems pretty detailed to me. Have you seen that?