dForce fur poncho

I'm a newbie. I purchased https://www.daz3d.com/dforce-real-fur-poncho-for-genesis-8. What I want is to be able to create the image of a full fur collar. What I get is one that appears to have been hit by the moths for too long. I've attached the different furs and none of them come through properly when applied with the poncho. No poncho (which looks weird) comes through with the heavy fur. What am I doing wrong? For anyone who looks at the product page, I want the look of the warrior with the heavy fur where he is holding a sword in his left hand. HELP!

Comments

• felisfelis Posts: 3,757
    edited May 1

What does it look like?

Are you aware that it will (default) only be limited visible in viewport, so you have to render it in Iray.

Post edited by felis on
  • felis. What I see when I render is horrid. Mangy. Sparse fur. Like I sai, looks like the moths have been at for months. 

• markusmaternmarkusmatern Posts: 529
    edited May 2

Rendered in DAZ Studio 4.22

Here is what I get with one of the presets out of the box:

In this one I changed the fur to use the new Omni shader:

Tycho_HSpikedCurls_FurPoncho.jpg
    2160 x 3840 - 952K
    Tycho_HSpikedCurls_FurPonchoOmni.jpg
    2160 x 3840 - 711K
    Post edited by markusmatern on
  • Here's what I get when I render. One is with the poncho; the other without the poncho.

sasjaq 3.png
    618 x 800 - 896K
    sasjaq 4.png
    618 x 800 - 678K

Which version of Daz Studio are you using?

• Daz 4.22.0.16

And is that an actual render, and Not Iray preview?

• fuil render.

If you select the fur (not the poncho) and open parameters.

What does it then say in line tesselation?

And also in parameters, what does it say under Simulation > Hair?

Does other StrandBasedHair products work for you?

• I think you have the answer. 

I upped the number in the line tesselation and there appears to be more fur.

Attached are the screenshots of the settings currently.