Unable to change fur density for Cat Beast by RawArt character.

I recently bought the Cat Beast by RawArt and I am having difficulty in getting the character to look like what is shown in the pictures i.e. very dense and fluffy with large sideburn-like cheek fur. (Link below.)

https://www.daz3d.com/cat-beast-with-dforce-hair-for-genesis-8-male

Mine on the other hand looks like a rat with thin wirery hair. (See Attached Screengrab) I tried using the included Fur Density material settings but it does not appear to do anything.

Now I am still pretty new at this, only started a few weeks ago, so perhaps there is some setting I am unaware of that changes the look of the fur. I tried using the dForce hair simulation stuff as shown in the video but that just made the hair hang naturally. If there is not a setting that I can use to fix this is there perhaps a product that I need that was not listed in the original store entry?

I really hope I can fix this and get it to look like in the product pictures because this model was exactly what I was looking for for a feline character. Any help that can be provided would be greatly appreciated.

Capture2.PNG
911 x 526 - 414K

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 96,909

Does that persist if you do a full render, rather than using Iray Drawstyle in the Viewport? Which tool is active?

• crosswindcrosswind Posts: 4,777
    edited March 25

The fur on this cat is strand-based hair on which the property of Preview Pre-Render Hairs is turned off by default... With Iray Preview in your screenshot, you have to firstly set Preview PR Hairs to "On", and Viewport Line Tessellation Sides >=2 ...

Pls be noted that it'll consume more system resources when you do so...

SNAG-2024-3-26-0002.png
    2020 x 1396 - 1M
    Post edited by crosswind on
  • joshs10001joshs10001 Posts: 0

Richard Haseltine said:

Does that persist if you do a full render, rather than using Iray Drawstyle in the Viewport? Which tool is active?