Ice Dragon Art WIP's

1910121415100

Comments

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457
    dracorn said:

    Lin For Genesis 2

    Faertara Outfit - which is far prettier than it looks in the thumbnails I might add

    Romance Hair With Slosh's lovely UHT2 Hair Studio

    FW's Iray Gobo's

    I stopped the render at 81% because it was just hanging.  and it crashed once at 80% already so I will probably try and run it all the way through another day.

     

    I really like those gobos, nice touch. 

    May I suggest, before you do your next render, add a rim light (or side light) from the left.  An outline of a contrasting color to the blue (yellow or orange) would bring even more drama to this dramatic render.  Also it would bring her face out from a piece that has very similar value throughout.

    Thank you!  I will most definitely see what I can do. I may have to set that up manually because the pre made rim lights I tried washed things out too much and I lost the subtle play on her skin.

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457
    edited July 2016

    Lluvia Gen 2

    Nimue Hair

    Aether Outfit

    Elven Staff

     

    Gaurdian.jpg
    800 x 1294 - 1M
    Lluvia No Background.png
    800 x 1294 - 823K
    Post edited by IceDragonArt on
  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457
    edited July 2016

    Lucille -G2F

    Lucille Retro Bikini

    Skies of Iradiance

    Lakeside Folly

    Might try rotating the dome a bit to see if I can get rid of that shadow at the bottom.  Wish there was a way to preview that.  I know I can change it from texture shaded but once there is a certain amount of stuff in the scene it really bogs things down. A lot.

    Sunset.png
    800 x 1294 - 1M
    Post edited by IceDragonArt on
  • TabascoJackTabascoJack Posts: 865

     

    Might try rotating the dome a bit to see if I can get rid of that shadow at the bottom.  Wish there was a way to preview that.  I know I can change it from texture shaded but once there is a certain amount of stuff in the scene it really bogs things down. A lot.

     

    Are you still working solely on a laptop?  

    I've found that with the Iray preview, once the scene has been loaded into memory, rotating the dome or changing lights doesn't cause a large re-render time.  On the other hand, I'm working on a tower with a GTX 970 in it.....

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457

    No I'm on the pc, the laptop is headed for the repair shop... the pc usually does a pretty good job (nothing usually takes more than an hour or two, usually less than 45 min if its comoplicated although I haven't run winterblack hall yet lol) I just tend to be very impatient. Not sure what my specs are but I have a Nvidea gforce 745 video card which came with the computer ( I bought this in May of 2015 before I discovered Daz Studio lol) and 16 gb or Ram.  I should probably stick some more memory in it pretty soon....

  • KnittingmommyKnittingmommy Posts: 7,919

    So, are they actually going to be able to fix the laptop?

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457

    They seem to think so.  I'll know for sure once I get it over there.  The guy I talked to seemed to understand what the problem was when I described what was going on and didn't seem to think it would be terribly expensive.  I have to work overtime next week but hopefully I can run it up next saturday or the following week.

  • TabascoJackTabascoJack Posts: 865

    On the tower - if the 745 has 4GB of memory then I'd look at adding more memory to the system.  If it only has 2GB, then it'll be much better to get a 4GB card as opposed to increasing system memory.

    Also - one thing that I just encountered....I was using Sugar for V4 (that I picked up in the July 4th V4 sale).  It's got a whole bunch of different surfaces.  It was taking the Iray view a long time to render - and then I started converting the surfaces to Iray Uber and the interactive view got a whole lot faster.  I think I remember someone mentioning the inefficiency in making Iray autoconvert shaders on every render, and that it would be faster to convert them to Iray Uber to avoid that inefficiency.  I don't know if you'd already done that with the bikini and/or Lakeside Folly.

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457

    How do I find out what part of the memory the 745 has?  Where do I look to find out?

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457
    edited July 2016

    Oh and I usually just automatically change everything over with the uber Iray shader right away it just makes life easier.  I just found out about the Iray preview a couple of weeks ago so I am still figuring out what and how it works and the best way to use it as well.

    Post edited by IceDragonArt on
  • TabascoJackTabascoJack Posts: 865

    How do I find out what part of the memory the 745 has?  Where do I look to find out?

    Right click on your desktop, and open the NVIDIA Control Panel.  In the bottom left corner, there's a link that says "System Information".  Click on your graphics card, and look for the detailed entry for "Dedicated Video Memory"

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457
    edited July 2016

    4096mb ddr3? So I'm guessing I should pick up another card?  Does that just slide into a slot like a regular memory card? I've put more memory cards into pcs in the past.

    memory bandwith 28gb

    cuda cores 384 ?

    I honestly rarely have anything take very long to finish so I haven't been terribly concerned but if its not super expensive I would certainly consider it.

    Post edited by IceDragonArt on
  • XaatXuunXaatXuun Posts: 840
    edited July 2016

    4096mb ddr3? So I'm guessing I should pick up another card?  Does that just slide into a slot like a regular memory card? I've put more memory cards into pcs in the past.

    memory bandwith 28gb

    cuda cores 384 ?

    I honestly rarely have anything take very long to finish so I haven't been terribly concerned but if its not super expensive I would certainly consider it.

    wow ..   like your renders, wonder   how many you would be posting a  day  if you had something like mine

    memory - 6144 MB GDDR5

    Memory Bandwidth - 336.48 GB/s

    CUDA Cores - 2816

     

    Post edited by XaatXuun on
  • TabascoJackTabascoJack Posts: 865

    4096mb ddr3? So I'm guessing I should pick up another card?  Does that just slide into a slot like a regular memory card? I've put more memory cards into pcs in the past.

    memory bandwith 28gb

    cuda cores 384 ?

    I honestly rarely have anything take very long to finish so I haven't been terribly concerned but if its not super expensive I would certainly consider it.

    That's a 4GB card.  That's usually enough for most renders, unless you've got a big scene.  

    You certainly could upgrade to a faster card with more cores; it would speed things up a bit.  16GB of RAM for the system should be enough also.

     

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457
    XaatXuun said:

    4096mb ddr3? So I'm guessing I should pick up another card?  Does that just slide into a slot like a regular memory card? I've put more memory cards into pcs in the past.

    memory bandwith 28gb

    cuda cores 384 ?

    I honestly rarely have anything take very long to finish so I haven't been terribly concerned but if its not super expensive I would certainly consider it.

    wow ..   like your renders, wonder   how many you would be posting a  day  if you had something like mine

    memory - 6144 MB GDDR5

    Memory Bandwidth - 336.48 GB/s

    CUDA Cores - 2816

     

    Thank you!   and probably a lot lol.  I absolutely can't justify another machine since this one is still what I would consider new.

    And thanks Tabasco Jack for having a look its nice to know its doing okay and that if I absolutely have to I can boost it a bit.  I don't think its really necessary for what I am doing now, and it won't kill me continue to practice a bit of patience either.

  • LinwellyLinwelly Posts: 4,869

    Wow, you#ve been so busy! I've been not as present as I usually am as there was rather much RL going on and like that there are a ton of new renders from you. I especially like that elf Lady with the "aquarellic" kind of background.

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457

    Thank you!  Yes, I've been a busy girl lol.  I totally understand that pesky real life getting in the way lol.  Mine has settled a tiny bit but if past experience is any indication the down time will be minimal.   I've finally starting do more post work, I really wanted to get at least a semi good grasp on the studio side of things before I started adding post work, I was afraid I wouldn't put as much effort into solving any issues if I allowed myself to think "oh, I can just fix it in postwork".  I wanted to have a somewhat reasonable grasp on what is and is not possible inside of studio and a head start on the learning curve before I went in and started playing with the post work.  I still want to take things as far as I can inside studio so I can keep learning all the tricks of the trade so to speak and then finish with post work.  But I just couldn't resist playing in photo shop any longer...

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457
    edited July 2016

    Zaya - Randomizer character with skin builder skin and make up.

    Jepe's Cosmic FlameZ

    Vidal Braids with UTH2 Color

    Swamp Witch Outfit

    Post edited by IceDragonArt on
  • KnittingmommyKnittingmommy Posts: 7,919

    Very nice, Sonja!  She looks like a great character.

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457

    Very nice, Sonja!  She looks like a great character.

    Thank you!  I am going to need to work on some kind of a story to keep using her.  I'm not very good at story writing though.  Much better at reading them lol.

  • KnittingmommyKnittingmommy Posts: 7,919

    Very nice, Sonja!  She looks like a great character.

    Very nice, Sonja!  She looks like a great character.

    Thank you!  I am going to need to work on some kind of a story to keep using her.  I'm not very good at story writing though.  Much better at reading them lol.

    I'm sure you'll be able to come up with something!

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457

    Very nice, Sonja!  She looks like a great character.

    Very nice, Sonja!  She looks like a great character.

    Thank you!  I am going to need to work on some kind of a story to keep using her.  I'm not very good at story writing though.  Much better at reading them lol.

    I'm sure you'll be able to come up with something!

    Lets hope lol.

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457
    edited July 2016

    Same render I just tried out the DA Real World Lighting for nightime.

    Zaya In The Dark.png
    632 x 1024 - 434K
    Post edited by IceDragonArt on
  • KnittingmommyKnittingmommy Posts: 7,919

    That's interesting.  I think Jepe's effect glow a little more with it being so dark.  I have those light presets on my wishlist, but I haven't broken down and gotten them yet.  It was tempting when they were in fast grab, but I just couldn't justify spending any more this month and maybe not next month either.  You'll have to let me know how you like them.  They use the latitude and longitude settings for the Sun & Sky, don't they?

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457

    Yes they do.  Everyone who I have talked to really likes them.  So far super easy to use but I will know more when I use them a bit more.  They were on my wishlist since almost the very beginning although I've severely tightened my budget as I just can't spend as much for awhile.  (like I don't have enough to play with as it is) I've been really good this month so far and I still had my coupon which helped.

  • KharmaKharma Posts: 2,978

    Really like that last one Sonja, the DA lights really give it that extra punch.  I recently got them also but haven't tried them yet, hopefully soon

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457
    Kharma said:

    Really like that last one Sonja, the DA lights really give it that extra punch.  I recently got them also but haven't tried them yet, hopefully soon

    Thanks Kharma!  I think they will definitely be useful and there are a lot of nice options that come with it.

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457
    edited July 2016

    Kari for Josie 6 applied to the base Gen2 Female since I don't actually have Josie 6.

    Cinna Hair

    Relaxation Porch by Inlite Studios (this was a freebie, really nice has an interior and exterior with a pool etc. but its mostly one piece so no re arranging and no adding or changing the textures.  But it is a beautiful set.)

    Summer Afternoon.png
    632 x 1024 - 1012K
    Post edited by IceDragonArt on
  • KnittingmommyKnittingmommy Posts: 7,919

    It looks nice.  I've gotten a few things from them, but I haven't actually rendered anything out yet.  Quick question, when you import a freebie like that where it is a .obj, do you save it as a .duf file for future use or do you import each time?  I'm just curious because, usually, I've just save .obj that I import into a scene file for future use.  But, I just imported my Blender models into DS and then figured out how to save the objects as .duf file and it was much easier than I thought it would be.

  • IceDragonArtIceDragonArt Posts: 12,457

    It looks nice.  I've gotten a few things from them, but I haven't actually rendered anything out yet.  Quick question, when you import a freebie like that where it is a .obj, do you save it as a .duf file for future use or do you import each time?  I'm just curious because, usually, I've just save .obj that I import into a scene file for future use.  But, I just imported my Blender models into DS and then figured out how to save the objects as .duf file and it was much easier than I thought it would be.

    This one came all packaged up and ready to go for Studio.  Some of the other obj. files I have I just imported then saved.

This discussion has been closed.