Cylinders Losing End Surfaces in Hexagon

Greetings!  I am brand new to Hexagon, so this could easily be just me doing something wrong, but I'd like to find out what's going on anyway.

When I create a cylinder using the 3D primitive, after creating the cylinder, I can change the number of points and segments for the cylinder.  If I do change these values, the cylinder loses its top and bottom surfaces.  If I don't change these values, then the top and bottom surfaces remain.  So, am I doing something wrong by increasing the number of points in a segment?  I have been following a video tutorial on creating a mug and can't get things to work the same way as in the video.

Thanks for any insight that you can provide!

Comments

• As I tend to put the ends on after creating the cylinder I don't recall having that problem. However, what is likely happening is that as one adds tessellation lines sometimes Hexagon will unweld a face. And if/when something goes completely kapooey with it, it will either remove the face or make a triangle face and a hole.

I notice though that you mention just adding points/dots ... add full lines. The points that are 'extra' [not forming a corner attachment] will cause an unwelded face to exist. And if those points were around the edge faces, yes they would be removed.

Little trick is to make your cylinder, then close the end holes [there's a button for that up top too], select those faces, then select the tessellation tool that has the 4 corners crossing in the centre. That will cause lines from all the dots to go through the centre. If there's a hole in the very centre, select all the dots there and use the weld them together button.

AND then, go to the Tools > Utilities and tell Hexagon to weld all the points together that are close to each other. Save project and continue working on it.

• Long ago, Hexagon had the possibility of being a nice mesh making program ... but it has been largely abandoned.