Creating a new Character from Scratch - importing it into DAZ Studio 4.x and more Questions...

Okay, after a good day+ of searching and reading way too many posts, I think I kinda have a clue on how to make Unique characters for DAZ. I hope. Please correct any incorrect assumptions and/or just plain wrong stuff, if you'd be so kind. :) 

First, I'm not a newbie to 3D modeling. I used Carrara up till v.5 (when it stopped being viable for me to use on my Mac, there was --iirc -- some issues with v.6/7 not working with Mac OS X) then I switched to using Silo and Blender. Been a user of Zbrush since v. 2 and just love v4r7. So I know how to model  (quads for the most part, tris only when it cannot be avoided, stars belong in the sky and not on the model - when possible-- iykwim) and have modeled many humanoid and alien characters. So the actual creation of the character/figure isn't an issue, really. I've been a Poser user for years up until recently when it went (more or less) belly-up when I upgraded to OS X 10.11 (El Capitan). At that moment, I decided to use DAZ Studio and am impressed with its usability and not crashing on me every other minute. :P

I've messed around with creating poses, using the renderer and playing around with texture maps and seeing how DS does things. So I feel I'm at an intermediate level of expertise with it. 

Now I want to use the figures I've created in my modeling app and texturing app in DS... and at this point things get real vague for me real quick...

If I understand things rightly...

I make the model, make polygroups (using DAZ provided models as reference for the polygroups/names of polygroups only), UV map it and then texture the darn thing. Then import the OBJ into DAZ Studio, set the groups/textures & shaders to what I intend them to be. At which time I also set up the joints and such. Then I go though the process of doing the Metadata so the figure appears in the Smart Content tab.