New PC, what determines render speeds

I studied Daz basics and did a lot of single G8/8.1 figure studio renders for about a year in my old laptop. Probably going to get a new PC with RTX 3060 12G and I'm curious what really determines render speeds for Daz3d. Cuda cores? 

I'm just a hobbyist Daz user and my new pc will be for gaming and Daz works.

Comments

• crosswindcrosswind Posts: 5,604
    edited April 2023

Yes, as for render speed, it mostly depends on the number of CUDA cores... The more CUDA cores you have, the more it will render faster... and certainly you have to first assure there're enough GPU VRAM for rendering your scene.

Post edited by crosswind on
  • PerttiAPerttiA Posts: 9,914

One can check benchmarks for Iray rendering here; https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/341041/daz-studio-iray-rendering-hardware-benchmarking/p1

More important than the rendering speed, is that one has to have enough VRAM on the GPU, otherwise the rendering will drop to CPU taking 20+ longer time to reach the same quality.
    12GB's of VRAM is ok, but 8GB's is just barely enough when using the latest versions of DS and relatively recent assets on the scene, so do not fall for RTX 3060 ti or any RTX 3070 GPU's.

The RTX 3060 12GB is a good card that doesn't cost too much.

• GordigGordig Posts: 9,647

For rendering Iray in DS, VRAM is the more important consideration, because a GPU will only contribute to a render if the entire scene fits within that card's VRAM. After that, CUDA cores, and I'm not exactly sure how tensor and RT cores factor into a card's speed, but those are responsible for the new features that make RTX cards so much faster than GTX. An important thing to keep in mind is that CUDA cores change from one generation to the next, so comparing the number of CUDA cores is only meaningful within a generation, e.g. if a RTX 2080 had more CUDA cores than an RTX 3060, that doesn't necessarily mean that the 2080 will render faster.