Iray light question

I am just getting into the iray stuff and I usually start off with light sets. I'm looking at what is in the store and frankly, I'm going cross-eyed. I can't decide which one to try out and I don't have the funds as I used to to just pick a up a few to test them. So I thought I'd toss out the idea here to get some feedback on which light sets for iray is worth the $$ for portrait and small size renders [as in nothing huge, like outside environments, etc] 

Comments

• KurzonDaxKurzonDax Posts: 228

What types of scenes do you plan on rendering (i.e. portraits, landscape, sci-fi interiors, home interiors, etc)?

• mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001

Why do you have to spend anything?

For a couple hours worth of time and a few 'save as' you can grab a few HDRis, plug them in and create your own presets.  Using a decent HDR, not much else needs to be done (maybe an additional light as a 'sun' if the shadows aren't 'good' enough).

There are even 'point and shoot'  'studio' HDRIs that have the photo studio lighting...just add backdrop and render.

• KaribouKaribou Posts: 1,325

I strongly recommend any of the Dimension Theory Iradiance HDRI sets and Dumor3D's Apocalyptic Plant Outdoors Set.  There are other sets that include parametric lights and mesh lights, but the real "meat and potatoes" is in the environmental HDRI-based lighting.  You can always add the DAZ Iray Uber Ambient shader to a primitive to make your own mesh light, which I do all the time.  The sets I mentioned are great for backdrops or just for lighting if you turn the dome off.  Inane Glory's IG Iray Essentials are also very good for portrait and interior lighting.

• ToborTobor Posts: 2,300