HD Victoria 7 Questions--what is it?

dvitoladvitola Posts: 136

Since I'm new to Daz Studio, I have a couple of questions about the new HD Victoria Add on. Is this a morph? There is no information on the sales page. Also, will regular skin textures work and show up the wrinkles in lips and knees, etc.? Or do I need special HD skin textures? Does it work well with iRay? This looks like something I would like to get for my V7. Thanks in advance. Denise

Comments

• ToyenToyen Posts: 1,864

I never bought any HD addons but I think it is an extra level(s) of subdivision with sculpted skin detail. Someone correct me if I´m wrong.

• mal3Imagerymal3Imagery Posts: 710
    I believe that's correct Toyen. IMO HD Add On aren't worth it if you're really planning to get it. It's just more sub with details and you can barely see a difference. To get really fine details on lips or skin wrinkles you can use a bump map.
  • ToyenToyen Posts: 1,864

If each HD add-on came with an extra set of skin textures just like Victoria 6 HD, then I´d consider buying some of the HD addons.
    But the higher resolution sculpting although very well done, just is not worth it for me personally.

• dvitoladvitola Posts: 136

But will it work with regular skin textures? Or do I need to buy HD skin textures which apparently, there aren't any at this time for V7.

• jakkujakku Posts: 91
    edited July 2015

Hello :)

It is a morph, I guess it depends heavily on whom you ask wether it is worth it or not, you could try it,  and if you do not think it is worth it. contact DAZ for a refund within 30 days.

Click the parameters tab with V7 selected, and find "SubDivision Level" click on the little cog next the the heart and the lock, then click "prarameter settings" and in the "max" box write 4 then accept, now dial Subd all the way up to 4 and make sure HD morph is dialed, see if you think it is worth it, if not you could get a refund within 30 days.