DAZ Studio Pro 4.8.0.59, General Release, Now Available! [*UPDATED*]

145791028

Comments

  • ChromaDrakeChromaDrake Posts: 288
    edited May 2015

    Is the Document Center down? I can't seem to access the links in the first post anymore. They were coming up before but now they're not.

    Edit - I got the page to show up again after multiple tries, maybe it's just getting hammered?

    Post edited by ChromaDrake on
  • BobvanBobvan Posts: 2,305
    edited May 2015

    To further elaborate on my issue here is what it looks like in the viewport with preview lights off when I come close to a character I also was able to determine that this happens when I use an added camera ( not with the perspective view) I have the preview lights off. Is there hidden iray lights that need to be turned off?

    f.png
    1600 x 851 - 1M
    Post edited by Bobvan on
  • edited December 1969

    Skin that is using transmit does look very diffrrent (reddish) now in .55 compared to the .9 beta I still have installed.
    Any idea why that is the case ? I am still using the beta shaders since I did not see any new ones.

  • MoussoMousso Posts: 170
    edited December 1969

    A very nice render medeia, a great one for a first try, well done.

    Thank you :)
    It will take a while to read all the threads that explain how to modify iray shaders, but its fun to play with it.
  • DAZ_SpookyDAZ_Spooky Posts: 3,100
    edited December 1969

    Bobvan said:
    To further elaborate on my issue here is what it looks like in the viewport with preview lights off when I come close to a character I also was able to determine that this happens when I use a created camera I have the preview lights off. Is there hidden iray lights that need to be turned off?
    I am not sure what I am looking at here. Default there are two lights in an Iray scene.

    First is the default HDRI. This is located in render settings under environment.

    Second is the headlamp, which simulates a higher end flash attachment, though it is lower power than a real world flash. This can be controlled from the camera's parameter pane or turned off from the parameter pane, the render settings pane (useful for rendering from perspective view), or by adding a light (spot, point or distant) to the scene. If you add a light and make it invisible then neither the headlamp nor the added light will illuminate the render. (Turning it off is useful for lighting with mesh lights or the environment.)

  • DAZ_SpookyDAZ_Spooky Posts: 3,100
    edited December 1969

    Skin that is using transmit does look very diffrrent (reddish) now in .55 compared to the .9 beta I still have installed.
    Any idea why that is the case ? I am still using the beta shaders since I did not see any new ones.
    They are available now.

    Lots of changes between .9 and .55 :) yes that includes fixing some bugs in how shaders were calculated.

  • BobvanBobvan Posts: 2,305
    edited May 2015

    Here is the same viewport one is using camera 1 which is dark and the lit one using perspective view I just want what i see in prospective using cam 1 the scene preview lights are switched off.

    v.png
    1600 x 851 - 1M
    o.png
    1600 x 851 - 1M
    Post edited by Bobvan on
  • MBuschMBusch Posts: 533
    edited May 2015

    I don't know if DAZ dev have a plan to update the CMS, but I think the Smart Content pane, Categories, and Content Type deserves some revision to better manage the 2 built-in render engines. I see new Iray shaders categorized under Shaders>Iray>[materials category name] creating some duplicate categories as metal and glass by example. It works at all, but is not the most intuitive and elegant solution to the problem. The same problem exist to the lights presets. Some are 3Delight compatible and some are Iray compatible.

    As shaders and lights are some kind compatible with Any Surface or Any Object is not so easy to pick up the right preset for the workflow being utilized. I am wondering if would be possible to Studio just shows automatically the shaders and lights compatible with the active render engine set in the Render Settings pane? Does it make sense?

    Post edited by MBusch on
  • jakibluejakiblue Posts: 5,727
    edited December 1969

    jcttkd said:
    Hi there,

    Long time user, first time poster.

    Anyone having success with Age of Armor advanced lights with 3Delight in 4.8? Textures are rendering black for, be it prop or figure, AOA shader or not.


    someone mentioned back here to try reinstalling them:

    http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/56756/P150/#828063

  • kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 28,476
    edited May 2015

    ...opened the DIM and looks like everything is there:

    Daz Studio 4.8 (Win 64-bit)
    Genesis 2 Female Starter Essentials
    Genesis 2 Male Starter Essentials

    There is also a file labelled Public Beta Content 1 DS. Is this the Iray content?

    Not going to install anything until I can get confirmation on this and where the main application installs to.

    Currently in my Programme Files Daz3D Folder I have the following folders for Daz Studio

    DazStudio3 (3.1 Advanced)
    DazStudio4 (Ver 4.7)
    DazStudio4 Public Build (4.8 beta)

    Having read that people are finding the installer for the application creating a new folder in C:/Programme Files/Daz3D labelled "DazStudio4.8" has me a little concerned as well as confused. Shouldn't the DIM uninstall 4.7 and then install 4.8 in the same folder? Once I commit to installing there will be no rolling back to 4.7 if things don't work properly as I don't want to spend a lot of time fixing broken paths.

    Oh, and how does one go about saving the installer for the previous version (4.7)

    Post edited by kyoto kid on
  • Mage 13X13Mage 13X13 Posts: 338
    edited December 1969

    I would like to know how to save my DS 4.7 Pro installer as well. From all the troubles I'm reading about here it sounds like a lot needs fixing before this build is truly stable. Some real instructional documentation might make this 4.8 build more of a success. Without that, I will stick with 4.7, until I see that this build is working better. At the moment it sounds like many of us are really confused with the new build, and I would be among that number if I commit now to installing it. That would push my workflow times up to a lot slower, due to having to figure out things that have little explanation.

    So this is my next question: Can I configure the new build to work similar to 4.7 in order to keep my workflow times at a minimum? And another question is will the Bryce/DAZ Studio bridge be fixed for DS 4.8? I know how to export a .obj and import it into Bryce, but the Bridge eliminated that necessity, and does it far faster. If I am to lose the ability to use the Bridge, I'd much rather stick with 4.7.

  • SpitSpit Posts: 2,171
    edited December 1969

    Kyoto Kid said:
    ...opened the DIM and looks like everything is there:

    Daz Studio 4.8 (Win 64-bit)
    Genesis 2 Female Starter Essentials
    Genesis 2 Male Starter Essentials

    There is also a file labelled Public Beta Content 1 DS. Is this the Iray content?

    Not going to install anything until I can get confirmation on this and where the main application installs to.

    Currently in my Programme Files Daz3D Folder I have the following folders for Daz Studio

    DazStudio3 (3.1 Advanced)
    DazStudio4 (Ver 4.7)
    DazStudio4 Public Build (4.8 beta)

    Having read that people are finding the installer for the application creating a new folder in C:/Programme Files/Daz3D labelled "DazStudio4.8" has me a little concerned as well as confused. Shouldn't the DIM uninstall 4.7 and then install 4.8 in the same folder? Once I commit to installing there will be no rolling back to 4.7 if things don't work properly as I don't want to spend a lot of time fixing broken paths.

    Oh, and how does one go about saving the installer for the previous version (4.7)

    If you're planning to keep the beta installed then install the 'Public Beta Content 1 DS' before the Shaders and Lights one because it fixes some stuff to prepare for the new version of Shaders and Lights. I uninstalled the Beta and that file fell out of Product Updates.

    My release version of 4.8 uninstalled 4.7 and put 4.8 in the same place (same as what you have). If you haven't messed with the paths in DIM you should have no problem.

  • SpitSpit Posts: 2,171
    edited December 1969

    Oh, and how does one go about saving the installer for the previous version (4.7)

    Missed this part. Pull it out of you DIM downloads folder before downloading 4.8.

  • MEC4DMEC4D Posts: 4,464
    edited December 1969

    In the last build when I render test Image sequences one of 100 frame become totally pixelated lol
    I have like 3 frames like per 300 ..weird
    I tried to re render it as still image and replace but it still render the same way , I made 4 different scenes and the same things happening
    I am using just HDRI lighting

    issue-animation2.jpg
    1277 x 734 - 514K
    issue-animation.jpg
    1277 x 734 - 392K
  • Mage 13X13Mage 13X13 Posts: 338
    edited December 1969

    Spit said:
    Oh, and how does one go about saving the installer for the previous version (4.7)

    Missed this part. Pull it out of you DIM downloads folder before downloading 4.8.


    Uh, what if the installer gets deleted automatically after the install?, would that not make pulling it out of the DIM not possible? All my installers get deleted after installing the content or application update. And I cannot go back to an earlier build because of this. What I want to do is move 4.7 to an external drive, so that I will be able to keep it in case 4.8 does not work out for me. That way I can still uninstall DAZ Studio 4.8, and move 4.7 back onto my computer, if the need arises. I think it only prudent to do things that way.

  • kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 28,476
    edited May 2015

    Spit said:
    Oh, and how does one go about saving the installer for the previous version (4.7)

    Missed this part. Pull it out of you DIM downloads folder before downloading 4.8.


    ...how does one do that without uninstalling it first?


    I also do not see any file that is titled "Shaders and Lights" Just the Public Beta 1 content file.

    Post edited by kyoto kid on
  • namffuaknamffuak Posts: 2,682
    edited May 2015

    Kyoto Kid said:
    ...opened the DIM and looks like everything is there:

    Daz Studio 4.8 (Win 64-bit)
    Genesis 2 Female Starter Essentials
    Genesis 2 Male Starter Essentials

    There is also a file labelled Public Beta Content 1 DS. Is this the Iray content?

    Not going to install anything until I can get confirmation on this and where the main application installs to.

    Currently in my Programme Files Daz3D Folder I have the following folders for Daz Studio

    DazStudio3 (3.1 Advanced)
    DazStudio4 (Ver 4.7)
    DazStudio4 Public Build (4.8 beta)

    Having read that people are finding the installer for the application creating a new folder in C:/Programme Files/Daz3D labelled "DazStudio4.8" has me a little concerned as well as confused. Shouldn't the DIM uninstall 4.7 and then install 4.8 in the same folder? Once I commit to installing there will be no rolling back to 4.7 if things don't work properly as I don't want to spend a lot of time fixing broken paths.

    Oh, and how does one go about saving the installer for the previous version (4.7)

    I just looked - both the 32 bit and 64 bit windows versions install in DAZStudio4, replacing 4.7 when installed with DIM. As far as the stand-alone bitrock installers go, the directory it comes up with is just a suggestion you are free to ignore.

    To save the 4.7 installers at this point you will need to copy the appropriate zip files from your DIM download directory (don't forget the plugins and content) - and this will not work if you have already downloaded 4.8 as the 4.7 files will be gone. Unless you have a copy of the download directory . . . External USB drives have become so inexpensive that I have 4 copies myself (the one I download to, as an external on my laptop; the one I install from, on the main system; and two backups of the install directory on two external drives on the main system - Ah - did I mention that my last 5 years on the job was as the backup/recovery and hotsite D/R specialist? :coolsmile: )

    Post edited by namffuak on
  • kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 28,476
    edited December 1969

    ...where do I find this in Windows?

  • kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 28,476
    edited May 2015

    ...OK this is getting stranger and stranger. On my desktop I have the shortcut for Daz 4.6 (which is really 4.7 when it starts up) and the Public Build Beta (4.8.0.53)

    Meanwhile, in looking at the DIM "installed" items, it shows Daz Studio 4.8 as already having been installed along with the public build beta. I find it really odd that both have the same package date (05/16/2015) and time stamps as the ones still in the "Ready to Download" tab. Furthermore, I do not see a listing for "Daz Studio 4.7 (Win 64 bit)" in the DIM "Installed" tab. which I would expect to be there.with a package date of sometime in November 2014

    This makes absolutely no sense as I have been holding off on downloading anything for the 4.8 General release after reading about issues others have been experiencing as well as am still waiting to see the Lights and Shaders installer appear in the DIM. If the installer in the "Ready to Download" tab is the latest and greatest, shouldn't it then have a more recent package date and different time stamp?

    This is beginning to get awfully confusing. My brain seriously hurts. Going off to bed now.

    Post edited by kyoto kid on
  • MEC4DMEC4D Posts: 4,464
    edited December 1969

    The same here I have 4 shortcuts to DS and all open 4.8 lol 4.7 is gone

    Kyoto Kid said:
    ...OK this is getting stranger and stranger. On my desktop I have the shortcut for Daz 4.6 (which is really 4.7 when it starts up) and the Public Build Beta (4.8.0.53)

    Meanwhile, in looking at the DIM "installed" items, it shows Daz Studio 4.8 as already having been installed along with the public build beta. I find it really odd that both have the same package date (05/16/2015) and time stamps as the ones still in the "Ready to Download" tab. Furthermore, I do not see a listing for "Daz Studio 4.7 (Win 64 bit)" in the DIM "Installed" tab. which I would expect to be there.with a package date of sometime in November 2014

    This makes absolutely no sense as I have been holding off on downloading anything for the 4.8 General release after reading about issues others have been experiencing as well as am still waiting to see the Lights and Shaders installer appear in the DIM. If the installer in the "Ready to Download" tab is the latest and greatest, shouldn't it then have a more recent package date and different time stamp?

    This is beginning to get awfully confusing. My brain seriously hurts. Going off to bed now.

  • edited December 1969

    Skin that is using transmit does look very diffrrent (reddish) now in .55 compared to the .9 beta I still have installed.
    Any idea why that is the case ? I am still using the beta shaders since I did not see any new ones.
    They are available now.

    Lots of changes between .9 and .55 :) yes that includes fixing some bugs in how shaders were calculated.

    Thank you very much for the reply :)
    I just got the new shaders and lights. I guess I need to change some of the settings and do some more test renders.
    Performance has been improved as well, thank you guys :)

  • AiRen-Irin-MalachyAiRen-Irin-Malachy Posts: 21
    edited May 2015

    Hiya!

    A tech-ignoramus here, seeking an idiot-proof advice on how to get the DS 4.8 without messing up, so please bear with me.

    1. Can I install DS4.8 on my external drive? I don't want to lose my trusty old 4.6 - installed on the local drive - it plays beautifully with my Carrara 8.5, and both Luxus and Reality plugins without a glitch, and that flexibility has been a life-saver.

    2. If I can keep 4.6 on the local drive, and 4.8 on the external one, what's the situation with that PostgreSQL CMS-Valentina thingy in that case? I have kept Valentina all this time, partly because my track record so far in introducing changes in DS has been catastrophic :red:, but mostly because the info on the dazhelpdesk pages advices against migration from Valentina for those who use Carrara 8.5 in tandem with Studio, which is what my case is.

    I do not use install manager, I instal everything manually, don't use smart content either (I know, I am a daft dinosaur, but it took me ages to fine tune the system that works for me and changing it does not bear thinking about it :red: )

    I would really like to play with 4.8, not just for Iray, but for the new 3Delight build too, but would really, really, really want to keep the old 4.6 as well. (Hell - I have even kept the old DS3A , just in case)
    Can it be done?

    Many thanks in advance, and again, my apologies for being the dunce of the class :red:

    Post edited by AiRen-Irin-Malachy on
  • DAZ_SpookyDAZ_Spooky Posts: 3,100
    edited May 2015

    MBusch said:
    I don't know if DAZ dev have a plan to update the CMS, but I think the Smart Content pane, Categories, and Content Type deserves some revision to better manage the 2 built-in render engines. I see new Iray shaders categorized under Shaders>Iray>[materials category name] creating some duplicate categories as metal and glass by example. It works at all, but is not the most intuitive and elegant solution to the problem. The same problem exist to the lights presets. Some are 3Delight compatible and some are Iray compatible.

    As shaders and lights are some kind compatible with Any Surface or Any Object is not so easy to pick up the right preset for the workflow being utilized. I am wondering if would be possible to Studio just shows automatically the shaders and lights compatible with the active render engine set in the Render Settings pane? Does it make sense?

    I am not going to try to predict the future :) please file this as a customer service ticket as a feature request. That way it won't get lost.
    Post edited by DAZ_Spooky on
  • DAZ_SpookyDAZ_Spooky Posts: 3,100
    edited May 2015

    Hiya!

    A tech-ignoramus here, seeking an idiot-proof advice on how to get the DS 4.8 without messing up, so please bear with me.

    1. Can I install DS4.8 on my external drive? I don't want to lose my trusty old 4.6 - installed on the local drive - it plays beautifully with my Carrara 8.5, and both Luxus and Reality plugins without a glitch, and that flexibility has been a life-saver.

    2. If I can keep 4.6 on the local drive, and 4.8 on the external one, what's the situation with that PostgreSQL CMS-Valentina thingy in that case? I have kept Valentina all this time, partly because my track record so far in introducing changes in DS has been catastrophic :red:, but mostly because the info on the dazhelpdesk pages advices against migration from Valentina for those who use Carrara 8.5 in tandem with Studio, which is what my case is.

    I do not use install manager, I instal everything manually, don't use smart content either (I know, I am a daft dinosaur, but it took me ages to fine tune the system that works for me and changing it does not bear thinking about it :red: )

    I would really like to play with 4.8, not just for Iray, but for the new 3Delight build too, but would really, really, really want to keep the old 4.6 as well. (Hell - I have even kept the old DS3A , just in case)
    Can it be done?

    Many thanks in advance, and again, my apologies for being the dunce of the class :red:

    The short answer is no.
    The longer answer is that having two releases from the same release channel (Release or Public Beta for example) read from the same preferences, configuration files, etc. This can and does cause conflicts and instability. It is neither supported nor recommended.

    You can have both DS 3.x and DS 4.X installed on the same computer just not two 4.x versions, or two 3.x versions.

    Now, having said all that, you can have DS 4.6 Release and DS 4.8 Public Beta installed on the same computer and they should not conflict.

    Oh yeah, and they will share the same database. We do highly recommend that database be PosetgreSQL.

    Post edited by DAZ_Spooky on
  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 46,199
    edited December 1969

    Bobvan said:
    Here is the same viewport one is using camera 1 which is dark and the lit one using perspective view I just want what i see in prospective using cam 1 the scene preview lights are switched off.

    The Perspective View has the headlamp on, if there are no lights in the scene or if Preview Lights is off, the Camera has local settings for the headlamp - they may not match.

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 46,199
    edited December 1969

    Kyoto Kid said:
    ...where do I find this in Windows?

    By default it will be in the Public Documents>DAZ 3D>Install Manager>Downloads folder. If you've changed the download location it will be in that folder.

  • AiRen-Irin-MalachyAiRen-Irin-Malachy Posts: 21
    edited May 2015

    Hiya!

    A tech-ignoramus here, seeking an idiot-proof advice on how to get the DS 4.8 without messing up, so please bear with me.

    1. Can I install DS4.8 on my external drive? I don't want to lose my trusty old 4.6 - installed on the local drive - it plays beautifully with my Carrara 8.5, and both Luxus and Reality plugins without a glitch, and that flexibility has been a life-saver.

    2. If I can keep 4.6 on the local drive, and 4.8 on the external one, what's the situation with that PostgreSQL CMS-Valentina thingy in that case? I have kept Valentina all this time, partly because my track record so far in introducing changes in DS has been catastrophic :red:, but mostly because the info on the dazhelpdesk pages advices against migration from Valentina for those who use Carrara 8.5 in tandem with Studio, which is what my case is.

    I do not use install manager, I instal everything manually, don't use smart content either (I know, I am a daft dinosaur, but it took me ages to fine tune the system that works for me and changing it does not bear thinking about it :red: )

    I would really like to play with 4.8, not just for Iray, but for the new 3Delight build too, but would really, really, really want to keep the old 4.6 as well. (Hell - I have even kept the old DS3A , just in case)
    Can it be done?

    Many thanks in advance, and again, my apologies for being the dunce of the class :red:

    The short answer is no.
    The longer answer is that having two releases from the same release channel (Release or Public Beta for example) read from the same preferences, configuration files, etc. This can and does cause conflicts and instability. It is neither supported nor recommended.

    You can have both DS 3.x and DS 4.X installed on the same computer just not two 4.x versions, or two 3.x versions.

    Now, having said all that, you can have DS 4.6 Release and DS 4.8 Public Beta installed on the same computer and they should not conflict.

    Oh yeah, and they will share the same database. We do highly recommend that database be PosetgreSQL.

    Thank you , DAZ_Spooky.

    I was afraid that might be the case, but still hoping something might be tweaked to make it possible, sadly, it doesn't look that way.

    I'll try to see if I can still get the latest Public Beta, and make do with that.
    Since the Beta requires Instal Manager (which I do not have), do I have to get the latest DIM installed first? Will the PostgreSQL have to be installed for Public Beta 4.8?
    And will it conflict with Carrara 8.5 that still uses Valentina? If I understood the info on the daz help desk page correctly, Carrara 8.5-DS users are advised against change over to postgreSQL.

    Many thanks (and, yes, I am apologizing again for most likely winning the Wally of the Week dumb awards on the forum)

    Post edited by AiRen-Irin-Malachy on
  • BobvanBobvan Posts: 2,305
    edited May 2015

    Bobvan said:
    Here is the same viewport one is using camera 1 which is dark and the lit one using perspective view I just want what i see in prospective using cam 1 the scene preview lights are switched off.

    The Perspective View has the headlamp on, if there are no lights in the scene or if Preview Lights is off, the Camera has local settings for the headlamp - they may not match.

    All I know is in 4.7 I dont have that problem this only happens when I get close up to a character. As soon as one backs away the scene is normally lit. I should be able to avoid this by turning off the preview lights like when you have a distant light if you don't want the effect. BTW this is not a rendering issue but a working in the viewport issue... Since I luxrender I may stay with 4.7 for now. I will submit a tikit

    Post edited by Bobvan on
  • DAZ_SpookyDAZ_Spooky Posts: 3,100
    edited December 1969

    Hiya!

    A tech-ignoramus here, seeking an idiot-proof advice on how to get the DS 4.8 without messing up, so please bear with me.

    1. Can I install DS4.8 on my external drive? I don't want to lose my trusty old 4.6 - installed on the local drive - it plays beautifully with my Carrara 8.5, and both Luxus and Reality plugins without a glitch, and that flexibility has been a life-saver.

    2. If I can keep 4.6 on the local drive, and 4.8 on the external one, what's the situation with that PostgreSQL CMS-Valentina thingy in that case? I have kept Valentina all this time, partly because my track record so far in introducing changes in DS has been catastrophic :red:, but mostly because the info on the dazhelpdesk pages advices against migration from Valentina for those who use Carrara 8.5 in tandem with Studio, which is what my case is.

    I do not use install manager, I instal everything manually, don't use smart content either (I know, I am a daft dinosaur, but it took me ages to fine tune the system that works for me and changing it does not bear thinking about it :red: )

    I would really like to play with 4.8, not just for Iray, but for the new 3Delight build too, but would really, really, really want to keep the old 4.6 as well. (Hell - I have even kept the old DS3A , just in case)
    Can it be done?

    Many thanks in advance, and again, my apologies for being the dunce of the class :red:

    The short answer is no.
    The longer answer is that having two releases from the same release channel (Release or Public Beta for example) read from the same preferences, configuration files, etc. This can and does cause conflicts and instability. It is neither supported nor recommended.

    You can have both DS 3.x and DS 4.X installed on the same computer just not two 4.x versions, or two 3.x versions.

    Now, having said all that, you can have DS 4.6 Release and DS 4.8 Public Beta installed on the same computer and they should not conflict.

    Oh yeah, and they will share the same database. We do highly recommend that database be PosetgreSQL.

    Thank you , DAZ_Spooky.

    I was afraid that might be the case, but still hoping something might be tweaked to make it possible, sadly, it doesn't look that way.

    I'll try to see if I can still get the latest Public Beta, and make do with that.
    Since the Beta requires Instal Manager (which I do not have), do I have to get the latest DIM installed first? Will the PostgreSQL have to be installed for Public Beta 4.8?
    And will it conflict with Carrara 8.5 that still uses Valentina? If I understood the info on the daz help desk page correctly, Carrara 8.5-DS users are advised against change over to postgreSQL.

    Many thanks (and, yes, I am apologizing again for most likely winning the Wally of the Week dumb awards on the forum)Carrara 8.,5.1 uses PostgreSQL (It is released), I will have to get that page changed, it is obsolete now. Note DAZ Studio 4.8 will still read Valentina, but we switched to PostgreSQL for stability issues, between DAZ 3D's Content Management Service (Used by Install Manager, Carrara 8.5 and DS) and Valentina, that we couldn't get resolved.

    Yes, you will have to install Install Manager to install the Beta.

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 46,199
    edited May 2015

    Bobvan said:
    Bobvan said:
    Here is the same viewport one is using camera 1 which is dark and the lit one using perspective view I just want what i see in prospective using cam 1 the scene preview lights are switched off.

    The Perspective View has the headlamp on, if there are no lights in the scene or if Preview Lights is off, the Camera has local settings for the headlamp - they may not match.

    All I know is in 4.7 I dont have that problem this only happens when I get close up to a character. As soon as one backs away the scene is normally lit. I should be able to avoid this by turning off the preview lights like when you have a distant light if you don't want the effect. BTW this is not a rendering issue but a working in the viewport issue... Since I luxrender I may stay with 4.7 for now. I will submit a tikit

    I can do this, but only if I scale the figure down (in this case it's 9.3%). Please open a bug report, if you haven't.

    Camera_vs_Perspective_View.JPG
    816 x 1073 - 69K
    Post edited by Richard Haseltine on
Sign In or Register to comment.