DAZ Studio file structure

eclark1849eclark1849 Posts: 211
edited December 1969 in The Commons

I just started learning how to create stuff for Studio, but I need to know how to structure the file path for anything I create for Studio. I know there are a couple of freebies available for how to pack things in the Poser Runtime, but I'm wondering if there's something similar for Studio. Lacking that, anyone know where i can find a list of how the Studio Content folder is structured?

Comments

• Lissa_xyzLissa_xyz Posts: 6,116
    edited May 2015

The only things that seem to have any sort of real structure are the Genesis folders.

My Library > People > Genesis/G2F/G2M > Clothing, Characters, Materials, Poses, etc.

Don't get me started on environments, props, and light sets.

As long as you have the /data folder in tact and textures are in /runtime/textures, everything's pretty much a free for all.

Post edited by Lissa_xyz on
  • eclark1849eclark1849 Posts: 211
    edited December 1969

ssgbryan said:

A note on Poser Companion Files......

You don't actually have to take the .duf, .py, .png; (fake).cr2, hr2, etc route. You can actually use native Poser files, a number of the smarter DS vendors are doing that to lessen the use of DSON (and it's associated performance penalty under Poser).

Thanks for the answer ssgbryan, but you know me. There won't be any Poser Companion files. No need for them.

edited December 1969

Vaskania said:
    The only things that seem to have any sort of real structure are the Genesis folders.

My Library > People > Genesis/G2F/G2M > Clothing, Characters, Materials, Poses, etc.

As long as you have the /data folder in tact and textures are in /runtime/textures, everything's pretty much a free for all.

So just toss in willy-nilly, huh?

edited December 1969

ssgbryan said: