Iray Starter Scene: Post Your Benchmarks!

Comments

• namffuaknamffuak Posts: 4,031
    edited December 1969

brian said:
    So if you could build a dedicated rendering machine for this purpose (iray rendering), would you focus on the processor, the ram, or the graphics card. For example:

http://www.scan.co.uk/3xs/configurator/custom-built-graphics-cad-workstation-pc-uk-3xs-gw-ht10

If you had a little extra to throw at this machine, would you:

Upgrade the processor to Intel Core i7 5960X 8-core with HT overclocked to 4.0GHz
    Stick another 4GB NVIDIA Quadro K4200 in it
    Instead of 2 GPUs, just put one in (K5000 or K5200)
    Up the ram to 64gb

Or something else?

Um - in general, yes.

I f you're going to do your own build - this is a nice MB: ASUS X99-E WS LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 - room for four double-slot gpu cards; 64 GB with an I7 cpu or 128 GB with a Xeon.

I've been running mine for several months now. I don't know if the quadro cards really bring that much more for Iray for the cost; I'm still looking at the titan X and the 980 ti and waiting to see where the prices end up in a month or so.

• Nyghtfall3DNyghtfall3D Posts: 750
    edited December 1969

CPU + GPU: 3 minutes, 46 seconds to process 5000 iterations and reach 89% convergence.

Specs:

3.5 GHz Core i7-4770K
    32 GB RAM
    6 GB Geforce GTX 780
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

• SedorSedor Posts: 1,764
    edited December 1969

GTX 980Ti (Reference Design):

3 minutes, 8 seconds (GPU only)

• necro__boynecro__boy Posts: 17
    edited December 1969

Iray, dedicated Graphics card for the monitors (it dose not need to be a watt-hog), Then more GPU cards with all the CUDA cores you can get. (the CUDA cores need to be a minimum version number of v2.5 or later, look closely at the specs). Also the RAM on the cards dose not add up, so they must each have lots of gigs each.