How to edit clothing / put something on top of clothing

Greetings everyone!

I am fairly new to Daz3d. I have the following problem:

I am working on a Scene with a female character who is wearing a long sleeved sweater. Now, I would like to add a scarf around her elbow, like tied around that elbow.

What I did so far:

- added the scarf around the elbow WITHOUT the clothing item

- now when I add the sweater, obviously the scarf is not visible anymore because I fitted that scarf tightly around that elbow.

The goal would be to keep the scarf where it is, and to remove/edit that part of the sweaters sleeve so that it doesn`t interfere with the scarf.

What I tried so far:

- used the addon tool meshgrabber to drag parts of the sweater around, but it always ends up in weird forms and automatically adjusts itself, this has something to do with the Smoothing I guess? And its just A LOT of fiddling around

- used the Geometry Editor to hide/delete some of the sweaters polygons, THEN use the meshgrabber for corrections, it also very exhausting

I hope I explained this understandable :)

Does anyone have another suggestions on this?

Comments

• PhatmartinoPhatmartino Posts: 287
    edited May 2021

It may still take some playing around along the same lines as you described, but if you hadn't yet, maybe try going to the Smoothing parameters of the Sweater and changing the Collision Item to the Scarf instead of the Female Character? Unless it causes major problems with the fit of the Sweater to the Character, at least the Sweater's Smoothing would be trying to help move itself under the Scarf as you fiddle with it...

Post edited by Phatmartino on
  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 97,049