Can I seperate Items within the building/blocks dice in scene?

felixmustdiefelixmustdie Posts: 22
edited April 2021 in New Users

Total newb here, By Dice I mean number 1.

All 4 walls are contained within that, i would just like to hide 1 wall, not all 4, but I can't find a way to break down the selection, despite the walls being discrete items, ie 2.

Post edited by felixmustdie on

Comments

• PhatmartinoPhatmartino Posts: 287

Hey @felixmustdie, welcome!  With "Wall183SG" selected just like you show where the "2" Label is, in the list to it's right, scroll down and look for Cutout Opacity. Setting that to Zero should do the trick.

• ok ty

But really no way to separate it out entirely into a discrete item?

• QuixotryQuixotry Posts: 899
    edited May 2021

In some cases, using Cutout Opacity to hide part of a mesh is the simplest option if it's a big prop that's all one piece. In this case, it looks like you're working with a bunch of grouped props/items. (I don't have the product to confirm that, but that's my guess.)

That means that they're all parented to a node to form a group. The parent is the one labeled Contemporary Flat. Right-click on the item that you want to separate from the rest and select 'Unparent' from the little pop-up list that appears, or simply click on the item and drag and drop it somewhere in the window, away from the group. Careful not to drop it on another item in the list, or you'll just be parenting it to another thing instead.

Post edited by Quixotry on
  • PhatmartinoPhatmartino Posts: 287
    edited May 2021

@felixmustdie I forgot I have this Set so I loaded it up to take a look...

It's even more complex than just 4 walls being seperate Surfaces of the "Walls" (1) Node, and the Cutout Opacity trick won't even work...