CC#54 WiPs ~ What is it that you truly desire? after party Chit Chat

1235711

Comments

  • Bunyip02Bunyip02 Posts: 4,413
    Diomede said:

    Yet another quickie by me.  This is the Poser 7 male (Simon) and an outfit from the world leaders collection available through the old Content Paradise.  Genghis Khan.

    The base is the Coverage Pass and Shadow Pass from Carrara.  I took that composite to filter forge to get a sketch.

    The quote is disputed.  But whether or not Genghis Khan said it, Conan did.  laugh

    Nice Conan ! Like the sketch effect

  • Bunyip02Bunyip02 Posts: 4,413
    ed3D said:

    _ And a few/several renders _  mostly Incomplete ~

    _ and How many CPU cores will Carrara use ??   _  Thanx ~

    Middle one is my favourite !

  • Bunyip02Bunyip02 Posts: 4,413

    It's weird how ideas can just 'pop' into one's brain.
    25 days left...and I finally have a fairly concrete idea. If all goes well it's gonna involve snails and...a salute / 'borrowing' / rip-off ( cheeky ) of Francisco Goya's 'The Parasol '

     

    Thanks for your comments. Looking forward to see how this one develops !

  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 11,595
    edited September 2020
    Diomede said:
    The quote is disputed.  But whether or not Genghis Khan said it, Conan did.  laugh

     

     Haha Diomede.
    Cool looking 'sketch' effect. Thanks for posting explanations. Was there a base render? Sorry, I'm not familiar with filter forge.

    Yes, good catch.  Here are other base renders produced by Carrara.  The first uses the native Toon III filter, the second is the post effect multi-pass for the Toon III filter, and the third uses the native NPR renderer.

    EDIT: One note - the NPR render (3rd) unfortunately shows the movement handles of the clothing items even though they were "turned off" using the alpha in the shader tree.  

    And thank you for the comment Bunyip

    Genghis Toon 1.png
    2000 x 1500 - 1M
    Genghis Toon 1_PostEffect.png
    2000 x 1500 - 856K
    Genghis npr 3.png
    2000 x 1500 - 2M
    Post edited by Diomede on
  • Bunyip02Bunyip02 Posts: 4,413
    edited September 2020

    Looks like the Arms snuck through

    Conan 1.png
    2273 x 1046 - 375K
    Post edited by Bunyip02 on
  • VarselVarsel Posts: 572
    edited September 2020

    Working on an idea.... This might get me in trouble, if the right (or in this case, the wrong) person sees this.

    Using Aiko 3 with Aikobot Maria.

    Doc3.jpg
    600 x 800 - 96K
    Post edited by Varsel on
  • StezzaStezza Posts: 5,876

    great to see everyone's imagination kicking in with tommy terrific images heart

    @Varsel that looks yummy! we had hamburgers with Chiko Rolls for dinner the other night laugh

    AikoBot is awesome yes

  • StezzaStezza Posts: 5,876
    edited September 2020

    modeled the SpeederBike, the Mandalorian Helmet & Baby Yoda for this image..

    Ol' Blue Desires a SpeederBike

    used LoRenzo and rock formations purchased from here.. had to export the rock from DS in OBJ as it would just sit there in never never land when loaded into Carrara. Retextured it all and added some dust in PSE20 in post.

    SpeederBike dusty.png
    900 x 506 - 727K
    SpeederBike_wip1.jpg
    1503 x 780 - 243K
    Post edited by Stezza on
  • ed3Ded3D Posts: 1,048
    Stezza said:

    modeled the SpeederBike, the Mandalorian Helmet & Baby Yoda for this image..

    Ol' Blue Desires a SpeederBike

    used LoRenzo and rock formations purchased from here.. had to export the rock from DS in OBJ as it would just sit there in never never land when loaded into Carrara. Retextured it all and added some dust in PSE20 in post.

    _ yeah , pretty good ~

  • ed3Ded3D Posts: 1,048
    Stezza said:

     Escape from 2020

    Just a basic scene render in Carrara and seperate png render of KenG wasp for a transparent background and added in PSE. Modeled the time machines and also the mummy wrap for Genesis, I converted the terrain to a vertexx model and shaded it with my sand texture.. Postwork in PSE2020

    Cool render Stezza, thanks for hints about figure transformations. Love the cat! laugh

    _ + 1 Yeah ~

  • ed3Ded3D Posts: 1,048
    Diomede said:
    ed3D said:

    _ And a few/several renders _  mostly Incomplete ~

    _ and How many CPU cores will Carrara use ??   _  Thanx ~

    I know it is at least 24.  Whatever the single machine limit, I know there is a way to use render nodes to add more machines to the render calculations.

    Looking good!

    _   Was meaning,   just  One computer _  and Thanx very much  ~

  • ed3Ded3D Posts: 1,048
    edited September 2020
    Bunyip02 said:
    ed3D said:

    _ And a few/several renders _  mostly Incomplete ~

    _ and How many CPU cores will Carrara use ??   _  Thanx ~

    Middle one is my favourite !

    _  well , Thanx  kindly  ~

    2.png
    1920 x 1031 - 316K
    Post edited by ed3D on
  • WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 29,147
    edited September 2020
    ed3D said:
    Diomede said:
    ed3D said:

    _ And a few/several renders _  mostly Incomplete ~

    _ and How many CPU cores will Carrara use ??   _  Thanx ~

    I know it is at least 24.  Whatever the single machine limit, I know there is a way to use render nodes to add more machines to the render calculations.

    Looking good!

    _   Was meaning,   just  One computer _  and Thanx very much  ~

    Stringtheory shared a post with 48 threads I think or maybe 96 using a computer from their work just to test

    Post edited by WendyLuvsCatz on
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 11,595
    edited September 2020

    @Varsel - love the idea, and always happy to see creative use of the older figures.  Hope you are doing well. 

    @Stezza - more great modeling, commented in the wacky thread.  Thumbs up, indeed.

    @ed3D - UFO?  City in the sky?  Frizbee?  Off to a good start.  I don't know much about the CPU and hardware side of things.  Here is a link to grid.  I'm not suggesting you buy it, but the description might be related to your CPU usage question.  Or not.  Like I said, I'm clueless.  https://www.daz3d.com/grid-for-carrara

     

     

    Post edited by Diomede on
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 11,595
    edited September 2020

    Playing Around with Previous WIPs - Genghis Khan Edition

    Wanted to have some grain to the texture.  For one thing, I think it helps separate the figure and globe from the background.  Loaded my WIP on a plane and then used the original depth pass and sketch WIP to create a bump map, and a mixer with a metalic shader.  I've attached a screenshot of the shader tree for the plane and highlighted the bump in the half of the mixer with the original WIP.  Other half is a silver metal shader.  The mixer blender is part value and part the bump map.

    I consider this an improvement.

    Rendered Over Plane 01.jpg
    2000 x 1500 - 451K
    bb01 rendered over plane setup.jpg
    1485 x 808 - 135K
    bb02 depth pass in bump channel.jpg
    1859 x 962 - 261K
    bb03 color in background channel to drive the metal shader mixer.jpg
    1707 x 983 - 171K
    Post edited by Diomede on
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 11,595
    edited September 2020

    Genghis Khan WIP #3 - Terrain > Plane

    Similar to previous WIP, but instead of placing renders in texture map channel of a plane, I used a terrain model.  Happy accident!

    For the shaders, I created a multichannel mixer for the beauty pass (reintroducing color) and a metallic shader (gold).  Using color or inserting a map in the background of the scene will affect the metallic color even if the background is completely obscured by the terrain.

    Genghis Khan with Color and Metal on Terrain.jpg
    2000 x 1500 - 2M
    tt01 terrain in scene.jpg
    1897 x 980 - 290K
    tt02 terrain modeler settings.jpg
    1910 x 1007 - 289K
    Post edited by Diomede on
  • ed3Ded3D Posts: 1,048
    edited September 2020
    ed3D said:
    Diomede said:
    ed3D said:

    _ And a few/several renders _  mostly Incomplete ~

    _ and How many CPU cores will Carrara use ??   _  Thanx ~

    I know it is at least 24.  Whatever the single machine limit, I know there is a way to use render nodes to add more machines to the render calculations.

    Looking good!

    _   Was meaning,   just  One computer _  and Thanx very much  ~

    Stringtheory shared a post with 48 threads I think or maybe 96 using a computer from their work just to test

    _ alright then Thanx ~  

    Post edited by ed3D on
  • ed3Ded3D Posts: 1,048
    edited September 2020
    Diomede said:
    @ed3D - UFO?  City in the sky?  Frizbee?  Off to a good start.  I don't know much about the CPU and hardware side of things.  Here is a link to grid.  I'm not suggesting you buy it, but the description might be related to your CPU usage question.  Or not.  Like I said, I'm clueless.  https://www.daz3d.com/grid-for-carrara

    _ and Thanx _  UFO?  City in the sky?  Frizbee?    =   ' Unidentified Aerial Phenomena '  and or  " unknown aerial phenomnon "  if you`re on this planet

    on another planet it`s a average ordinary everyday kind of thing  _

    _ the CPU remark is  " Bryce can use 8 so ,  Carrara can use how many ??

    Post edited by ed3D on
  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 11,595

    _ the CPU remark is  " Bryce can use 8 so ,  Carrara can use how many ??

    I can confirm at least 24.  I know it is higher but I don't know how high.

  • Diomede said:

    _ the CPU remark is  " Bryce can use 8 so ,  Carrara can use how many ??

    I can confirm at least 24.  I know it is higher but I don't know how high.

    https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/comment/839020/#Comment_839020

  • StezzaStezza Posts: 5,876

    not only Genghis can but @Diomede can as well!

    great seeing these alternate experimental uses of shaders yes

    if anything I would have the text a lighter colour to make it pop wink

     

    Diomede said:

    Genghis Khan WIP #3 - Terrain > Plane

    Similar to previous WIP, but instead of placing renders in texture map channel of a plane, I used a terrain model.  Happy accident!

    For the shaders, I created a multichannel mixer for the beauty pass (reintroducing color) and a metallic shader (gold).  Using color or inserting a map in the background of the scene will affect the metallic color even if the background is completely obscured by the terrain.

     

  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 11,595
    edited September 2020

    if anything I would have the text a lighter colour to make it pop

    This is a quick attempt.  Thanks for the suggestion.  Not sure how much tinkering I will be doing with each of my current entries but I appreciate all the constructive ideas.  Awesome community.

    Genghis Khan with Color and Metal on Terrain 3 white lettering.jpg
    2000 x 1500 - 2M
    Post edited by Diomede on
  • StezzaStezza Posts: 5,876
    edited September 2020

    ok... what I would do here is use the Carrara text tool so it's seperate from the plane to get it sharp .. 

    what I do usually is set the font size to to 12 or lower and set depth to zero smiley  heart

    Post edited by Stezza on
  • ed3Ded3D Posts: 1,048
    edited September 2020
    Diomede said:

    _ the CPU remark is  " Bryce can use 8 so ,  Carrara can use how many ??

    I can confirm at least 24.  I know it is higher but I don't know how high.

    ~ thanx , but ought to have added  ~  _  the CPU remark was Curiosity   ~ have seen about this but do'nt recall

    Doc1CPUs B.png
    1280 x 720 - 64K
    Post edited by ed3D on
  • ed3Ded3D Posts: 1,048
    edited September 2020
    Diomede said:

    _ the CPU remark is  " Bryce can use 8 so ,  Carrara can use how many ??

    I can confirm at least 24.  I know it is higher but I don't know how high.

    https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/comment/839020/#Comment_839020

    ~  Thanx for this  ~ interesting discussion ~ this is the  thread  that saw  about carrara

    Post edited by ed3D on
  • ed3Ded3D Posts: 1,048
    edited September 2020

    _ And in TrueSpace 7.6  ~  Incomplete

    2NeuOrion 1.png
    1920 x 1035 - 340K
    Post edited by ed3D on
  • ed3Ded3D Posts: 1,048
    Stezza said:

    ok... what I would do here is use the Carrara text tool so it's seperate from the plane to get it sharp .. 

    what I do usually is set the font size to to 12 or lower and set depth to zero smiley  heart

    _ + 1 yeah , pretty much ~ although , might use a small depth  ~

  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 11,595
    ed3D said:

    _ And in TrueSpace 7.6  ~  Incomplete

    Looking good.  Anticipating complete 

  • DiomedeDiomede Posts: 11,595
    edited September 2020

    And here is my own current incomplete - modeled a quick muppet-like monster with blue hair and top eyeballs.  Created a single mat zone for everywhere I want hair and excluded where I don't.

    Wonder what this monster truly desires?

    Monster Hairy WIP.jpg
    640 x 480 - 25K
    Monster Hairy 2 WIP.jpg
    1895 x 998 - 268K
    Post edited by Diomede on
  • VarselVarsel Posts: 572
    edited September 2020
    Diomede said:

    And here is my own current incomplete - modeled a quick muppet-like monster with blue hair and top eyeballs.  Created a single mat zone for everywhere I want hair and excluded where I don't.

    Wonder what this monster truly desires?

    Cookies .... COOKIES !

    Post edited by Varsel on
Sign In or Register to comment.