[Released] Dungeon Builder [Commercial]

TotteTotte Posts: 13,702
edited April 2020 in Daz PA Commercial Products

I have a little something coming up... 



https://www.daz3d.com/dungeon-builder

Post edited by Totte on
«13

Comments

  • jedijuddjedijudd Posts: 606

    This looks very cool, can it build a dungeon using any modular set?

  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,702
    jedijudd said:

    This looks very cool, can it build a dungeon using any modular set?

    As long as the props follow certain rules, like square floor and ceiling, and the walls have the same width as the floor.
    I've done setups, included for several sets including 3 sci fi sets from Stonemason and also M.I.C.K by Faveral and Scfi from TangoAlpha and Mely3D. 
    Some sets won't work (often walls fit 2 floors or floors are rectangular and some are 2m, some 3m base but as long as they match you can mix and match fro diffrent sets too.
    The set builder, not shown in the video, is quite powerful too and there are ramdomization of Presence both if you have several items of the same type, like walls, and that is controllable, the chance for each prop, same with multple material settings or poses (for open panels etc), controlled random.

  • jedijuddjedijudd Posts: 606

    Thanks for additional info, looking forward to its release

  • pdspds Posts: 593

    This looks fun. 

  • LintonLinton Posts: 541

    Ooh this looks interesting!  Looking forward to it being in the shop!

  • ImagoImago Posts: 4,979

    *dives on the screen*

    It's already in my wishlist even if it isn't in the store yet. laugh

    Any chance to see something similar to build multistory homes? smiley

  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,702
    Imago said:

    *dives on the screen*

    It's already in my wishlist even if it isn't in the store yet. laugh

    Any chance to see something similar to build multistory homes? smiley

    That's a bit more difficult, but let's see how well this one does. 

  • ImagoImago Posts: 4,979
    edited March 2020
    Totte said:
    Imago said:

    *dives on the screen*

    It's already in my wishlist even if it isn't in the store yet. laugh

    Any chance to see something similar to build multistory homes? smiley

    That's a bit more difficult, but let's see how well this one does. 

    Well, basically you already did it with your Crate Factory. smiley If I'm not wrong, it composes a serie of crates from a pool of parts and stacks them in the right order.

    The differences here is that you have to plan "wider areas" for large windows, larger doors and opening in the floor/ceiling to accept stairs. I'm not a programmer, but I guess you can add a "dropdown menu" to select a precise prop to be placed in a certain square and the script will place the right block and the prop. wink Like for the crates, it should be possible to "create" the right kind of block for the spot, for example simply not putting the base where the stairs are placed or placing a window in the wall.

    However, I'm looking forward for this new product, it's exactly what I need for many of my projects.  laugh

    Post edited by Imago on
  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,702
    Imago said:
    Totte said:
    Imago said:

    *dives on the screen*

    It's already in my wishlist even if it isn't in the store yet. laugh

    Any chance to see something similar to build multistory homes? smiley

    That's a bit more difficult, but let's see how well this one does. 

    Well, basically you already did it with your Crate Factory. smiley If I'm not wrong, it composes a serie of crates from a pool of parts and stacks them in the right order.

    The differences here is that you have to plan "wider areas" for large windows, larger doors and opening in the floor/ceiling to accept stairs. I'm not a programmer, but I guess you can add a "dropdown menu" to select a precise prop to be placed in a certain square and the script will place the right block and the prop. wink Like for the crates, it should be possible to "create" the right kind of block for the spot, for example simply not putting the base where the stairs are placed or placing a window in the wall.

    However, I'm looking forward for this new product, it's exactly what I need for many of my projects.  laugh

    The main difference is that crate factory uses the props included i  the set, this one allows you to use any modular set that has square floors with matching walls and ceiling. The hard part with multistory is stairs but might decide to solve that.

     

  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,702

    Update in submitted to DAZ for the issue some people are having. 

  • DoctorJellybeanDoctorJellybean Posts: 8,127
    edited April 2020

    I see it's live! Congrats.

    And I second the suggestion for multi-storey houses smiley. Or even a cottage ....

    Post edited by DoctorJellybean on
  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,702

    I see it's live! Congrats.

    And I second the suggestion for multi-storey houses smiley. Or even a cottage ....

    That will require some more delicate coding but it can probably done. I put it on my list!

  • DripDrip Posts: 1,169
    edited April 2020

    Congratulations! Third "generator" product in a matter of weeks, which I think is awesome, and will make a lot of people very happy. :)
    I love how the built-in pieces give a bit of a The Bards Tale vibe. They give me a slight urge to go back playing that instead of rendering, lol.

    Oh, and as a suggestion, include a link to your product in your top post, so people who have the Daz Deals browser addon get relegated here. https://www.daz3d.com/dungeon-builder for your convenience. ;)

    Post edited by Drip on
  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,702

    I had no idea the world would be locked in urging to play on roll20 and similar systems when I started this i November last year. 
    And the drive was when I needed dungeons for my Ulfnaar story and got bored placing things manually.

  • fastbike1fastbike1 Posts: 4,075

    Well, instabuy for me. I really like the ability to use other modular props / scenery, especially since I have everything mentioned in the promos. Well done!

  • SevrinSevrin Posts: 6,301

    Could this be made to work with the Aslan rooms and corridor sections?  That would be pretty spectacular.

    https://www.daz3d.com/aslan-court-1

    https://www.daz3d.com/aslan-court-2

    https://www.daz3d.com/aslan-court-3

     

  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,702
    Sevrin said:

    Could this be made to work with the Aslan rooms and corridor sections?  That would be pretty spectacular.

    https://www.daz3d.com/aslan-court-1

    https://www.daz3d.com/aslan-court-2

    https://www.daz3d.com/aslan-court-3

     

    I dont think so, the floors, ceilings and walls do not have the same sizes.

  • 5200north5200north Posts: 249

    can you use other types of wall and floors or just the walls shown in the product page. I don't do much fantasy stuff but i would be helpful to make some contemporary scenes.

  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,702
    5200north said:

    can you use other types of wall and floors or just the walls shown in the product page. I don't do much fantasy stuff but i would be helpful to make some contemporary scenes.

    As long as the set uses square floors and ceilings and wall have the same width as the floor, you can build your own Dungeon Builder sets using the Dungeon Set Builder that is included. The problem is finding sets that works. Last resort, make square with the same width as the wall you have, set a floor texture and save as a prop, same for ceiling.

  • ArtiniArtini Posts: 9,181

    I just wonder, why we cannot use rectangular tiles?

    Any particular reason for that?

     

  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,702
    Artini said:

    I just wonder, why we cannot use rectangular tiles?

    Any particular reason for that?

     

    The logics to place a wall on any side of a floor will fail. To support rectangular floors I would have had to add another 300-400 hours of development time.

  • ArtiniArtini Posts: 9,181
    Totte said:
    Artini said:

    I just wonder, why we cannot use rectangular tiles?

    Any particular reason for that?

     

    The logics to place a wall on any side of a floor will fail. To support rectangular floors I would have had to add another 300-400 hours of development time.

    Ok, thanks for the explanation, and sorry for the asking.

     

  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,702
    Artini said:
    Totte said:
    Artini said:

    I just wonder, why we cannot use rectangular tiles?

    Any particular reason for that?

     

    The logics to place a wall on any side of a floor will fail. To support rectangular floors I would have had to add another 300-400 hours of development time.

    Ok, thanks for the explanation, and sorry for the asking.

     

    No problem - it's difficult to understand how tricky things are

  • TizianoTiziano Posts: 285

    Hi, I cannot see any dungeon built using Scifi kit 2016 by Stonemason or Scifi Construction kit be Mely3D.

    Built in Dungeon Builder Set is OK.

    Can you help me solve this problem?

    Thanks

  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,702
    Tiziano said:

    Hi, I cannot see any dungeon built using Scifi kit 2016 by Stonemason or Scifi Construction kit be Mely3D.

    Built in Dungeon Builder Set is OK.

    Can you help me solve this problem?

    Thanks

    The Update is sent to DAZ, sent you a PM with the updated files.

  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,702

    The Dungeon Builder update is now available, just needs to sync on the servers but will probably be in DIM in a few hours.
     

  • 3drendero3drendero Posts: 2,018
    Hi, thanks for a cool product (wishlisted). Will it work with https://www.daz3d.com/sci-fi-corridor-modular-kit from Polish? Also wishlisted, cannot check the square/width requirement.
  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,702
    3drendero said:
    Hi, thanks for a cool product (wishlisted). Will it work with https://www.daz3d.com/sci-fi-corridor-modular-kit from Polish? Also wishlisted, cannot check the square/width requirement.

    Hi, I don't know (I don't have that set, missed it when I was looking for kits to buy and test with, wishlisted it for testing)

     

  • 3drendero3drendero Posts: 2,018
    Hmm, how about these 2 sets? The first one is a PC+ item, a easy buy with your builder: https://www.daz3d.com/solaris-corridor https://www.daz3d.com/silverthorn-fortress-modular-interior-kit
  • TotteTotte Posts: 13,702
    3drendero said:
    Hmm, how about these 2 sets? The first one is a PC+ item, a easy buy with your builder: https://www.daz3d.com/solaris-corridor https://www.daz3d.com/silverthorn-fortress-modular-interior-kit

    https://www.daz3d.com/solaris-corridor  is not modular at all

    https://www.daz3d.com/silverthorn-fortress-modular-interior-kit I have that one so I can test

     

Sign In or Register to comment.