Carrara Pro Performance

his xhis x Posts: 866
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

I spent six months with Poser. I found the program slow to load and easy to lock up from the beginning. Normal troubleshooting steps found nothing wrong. I came to think the software was poorly written.

Now I'm studying Carrara Pro. I'm learning quickly thanks to this forum. I've managed to import a naked cr2 file in one piece. Carrara's performance has been right snappy, up until yesterday, when I added a shirt and pair of pants, bringing the file size to almost 40M. Now, on file save, I get the white screen and the Program Not Responding message (groan). It hasn't locked, it's just responding slower than Windows wants it to. In time, Carrara completes the save and the white screen goes away. Again, troubleshooting found nothing. I can't believe I'm the only person who's seen this behavior.

My hardware setup is ample. For most other programs it is more than adequate. Everything I've read tells me it is appropriate for general 3D use, short of professional. I shudder to think what will happen when I add backgrounds, multiple characters, etc. I have a fast I7 ready to install, but I doubt it will make a day-and-night difference. Maybe I'm wrong.

What does it take to run these programs? Multiple Xeons? I'm not being rhetorical, I'm serious.

Thanks.

W7-64
I5-3550
32GB RAM
110GB SSD Scratch Drive
NVIDIA Quatro K2000 2GB

Comments

• GarstorGarstor Posts: 1,411
    edited December 2013

Rottenham said:

W7-64
    I5-3550
    32GB RAM
    110GB SSD Scratch Drive
    NVIDIA Quatro K2000 2GB

You certainly do seem to have ample hardware there. But I can tell you that even on my 64 GB RAM / 24 cores box, Carrara can be sluggish with a big enough scene.

My biggest complaint is that it has lousy error messages that provide zero information content about the problem. This means that you have to diagnose everything yourself.