GeForce or Radeon?

mavoelkermavoelker Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in New Users

HI all,

I'm a total noob at DAZ and 3D but I've been trying it out with the free 4.6 Pro and V5 and having a great time.

A friend just gave me two graphics cards for my computer, and I don't know which is better for DAZ.

The two cards are: GeForce FX5200, and Radeon 9200SE. Both have 128MB DDR and the Radeon is "TVO" (whatever that means).

My computer is a Dell Inspiron 560, Pentium Dual-Core CPU, E5400 running at 2.70GHz, with 4.00 GB installed RAM, 64 bit machine, running Windows Home Premium 7. I've got a second monitor ready to use alongside my existing monitor.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thank you!

Comments

• Takeo.KenseiTakeo.Kensei Posts: 1,303
    edited December 1969

I'm almost sure you can't plug these card as they are very old and were designed to use AGP port that I guess you don't have on your system
    I'm also not sure any of the two meets the minimal requirement for DS but if one is eventually able to, it is the Nvidia which has more feature.

Good luck

• JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited November 2013

The GeForce is a PCI bus card. So check what your Motherboard has as standard slots. The drawback is the Open GL version 9.

Post edited by Jaderail on
  • mavoelkermavoelker Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Thank you two for answering.

I have PCIe Gen.2 on my motherboard.

Unfortunately, the two boards will not fit. :-(

If you have any suggestions on a graphics card, I thank you in advance.
    My computer (vintage 2010) has two monitors because I originally had an auxiliary graphics card, but it crapped out on me about 18 months ago. So all I need is a new graphics card.

• JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Simple do a Web search for GPU cards compatible with your Motherboard. Get the best you can afford.

edited December 1969

Thanks. After googling around, probably the Radeon HD 7750 SFF 1GB GDDR5 pcie card. $144.00.