Mysteries, Problems & 6 Questions re DAZ Studio 4.6 Pro!

Prince WaoPrince Wao Posts: 373
edited October 2013 in New Users

Apologies that is a long one, but it was either that or 7 separate messages!

I'm new to 3D modelling and to DAZ, but in the last month have encountered numerous problems with the programme. I've found that it's extremely eager to crash, with or without warnings, and particularly when a scene in progress has more items or details added to it. It will also crash during renders; plus saved scenes or scene subsets take ages to load, and even once loaded I have to wait 5+ minutes before the navigation controls will work fluidly – prior to that they stick – and said saved scenes and subsets are even more likely to crash or encounter other anomalies than a new unsaved scene.

Occasionally, but still too often, once items have been added to a scene or to a character, I then can't access 'materials' for them as they only show up as blank grey frames, and if I click 'refresh' although I'll get the colour images of the materials showing again, when trying to apply one, what appears on the character is a mishmash of all variants of materials for the selected item. This and other glitches have happened so often that I now know the only thing I can do is exit the programme, reload and start over. But it's very frustrating and inordinately time wasting.

I have 5 questions:
1: I read on a non DAZ site that persons who upgraded to 4.6 Pro from an earlier version have no problems, but if one downloaded it as new then these glitches are standard. Is that true?

2: Renders are usually very fast, but one scene I created which had a lot of fine detail in shadows took 3 hours to render! I've noticed that regular renders slow down over dark areas, but in the latter it would come to a full stop at certain points – often 22% into the render – and just stick for ages, sometimes 20+ minutes. Is this normal?