Render server for daz

Im planning on making some games. The first will use daz then daz+poser+ue. I'm a programmer, not an artist.. and i'm relearning 3d graphics from 10+ years ago.... (wow the time sync). Some of my scenes include complex landscapes and multiple daz models and im running a gtx 1060 3gb so.. cpu rendering. Im thinking of buying a used Poweredge r815 server just to offload the scene renders (and maybe some animations). This should cost me about $500. Is this a bad/good idea? The plan is to install windows 8.1 on the server (its stable), maybe physically modify the box and put a gtx 750 in it.. install daz and blender on it and use it to render. It will have 32 or 64 cores at about 2.3 ghz. I can get a higher ghz server but with FAR fewer cores for that. Is this a good plan or am i wasting money. This server will only be turned on when im rendering (it's very power intensive). The last time i was doing any real rendering was  you bought 3dsmax on a cd and it cost less than my graphics card........ Any advice? is this a bad idea? I see a lot of reccomendations about buying Much slower used 8  core servers and render stations but it seems ridiculous to buy a render station that's not even as fast as my pc and im not willing to put out the 2-3k minimum to build a passable ryzen pc that probably still wont render as fast as this server

Comments

• You'd be far better off getting a better graphics card. That $500 could get you a used 1080 which will definitely outperform that server in iRay rendering.

• kyoto kidkyoto kid Posts: 40,576

...I'd invest the 500$ in Octane4 as it supports Out of Core memory which means if the render process exceeds the GPU VRAM it then uses physical memory from the MB wiith out dumping the entire procedure to the CPU like Iray does. 

• ArtiniArtini Posts: 8,849

Out of Core memory in Octane 4 is even in free version of it - no need to purchase the license.

I would better invest the $500 in the hardware, as well.