Sky Dome & Realistic Renders

Hello,

I'm going to be working on out door scenes using 22 Parker Road and I would like to be able to do it all from within Daz Studio, rather then in post render. The problem is I have very little experience with Sky Dome or what it can do. My assumption was that simply by turning it on, you would instantly get blue skies and puffy white clouds. Clearly, that wasn't the case. 

I guess my question really is can you create realistic skys from within Daz Studio simply using the default Sky Dome or does that require the purchase of an additional third party app such as 

https://www.daz3d.com/light-dome-pro-r

Thanks!

Comments

• Sven DullahSven Dullah Posts: 7,621

You have to decide wheter you want to use Iray or 3Delight for rendering out your scene. The product you linked to won't work in Iray. Generally using skydomes work in 3DL, as you can turn shadows off for them so sunlight will pass through, Iray uses "virtual " skydomes. In render settings you can specify if it uses the sun&sky or an HDRI image as a light source, or if it also uses additional lights, which you can create yourself. Iray is an unbiased renderer, meaning if you use a regular skydome, light will be bloccked, resulting in a black render;)

• KitsumoKitsumo Posts: 1,210

Skydomes were popular before HDRI was created. A much better option for you would be to search for "free HDRI maps", or they might be called HDRI environments, HDRI skydome, or whatever. Anyway, you can download free ones without registering or signing up for anything, and they replace the standard DTHDR-RuinsB-500.hdr in Daz Studio. Some companies offer you a lo-res version, hoping you'll like it and buy their high-res stuff.

You can find environments with or without a ground, depending on what you need, and they usually include a light source.

Search for HDRI Haven, IMO a great source for free high quality HDRIs;)

• Oso3DOso3D Posts: 14,886

I still like using skydomes sometimes with Iray.