How good is Carrara Soft Body with cloth draping?

will2powerwill2power Posts: 270
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

First let me say this --I'm not interested in animating anything. I want to know how Carrara is with cloth for draping when it comes to a still render. I would like to be able to use more realistic clothing when it comes to building a scene. I've heard a lot of for and against when it comes to soft body physics for animating, but I'm more interested in things like the drape of clothing when a figure is standing or sitting or even laying down on a couch. Can someone give me a little insight on this?

Comments

• stu sutcliffestu sutcliffe Posts: 274
    edited December 1969

I have had limited experience with this technique. I have made a simple clothing model and draped it over my figure.It actually worked quite well from what I remember. I applied a force to blow a few wrinkles into it ,then just saved the best frame for my still render . I did do it in the 8.5 beta... I think in 8.1, it just goes haywire. I'm looking towards doing similar things in Blender in the future ,the dynamic stuff appears to be a lot more robust. So basically you will probably need 8.5 to have a chance.
    Go to my blog ( below) and find "Ghost Girl" this is the one I draped.

• HeadwaxHeadwax Posts: 9,930
    edited December 1969

simple meshes are good - complex meshes? not so good - definition of complex - a typical clothing piece available at daz store

• will2powerwill2power Posts: 270
    edited December 1969

I'm talking more like a shirt overtop a figure with maybe a tshirt on underneath. Or a business suit, or maybe slacks or a dress. I'm not really doing complex clothing with a lot of buckles or ruffles or anything. Most of what I want to render are just people in everyday wear. I'm thinking that if it can't do that, I might content myself with Marvelous Designer imported as an obj or something like that.

• wetcircuitwetcircuit Posts: 0