How to save various files?

I was wondering if there is anywhere I can look to learn the best ways to save files as I work on them. I notice that the tutorial for this is missing from the video tutorials page, so I was hoping someone here could help me out.

I have been using DAZ for several years to create figure reference for my job illustrating comic books. I've just been sort of stumbling through, figuring things out as needed, and I'm sure I'm doing a lot of things "wrong". Every time I create a new character, I have always saved it as a new scene. For each "costume", I save the figure in the clothes as another scene. Then, each time I pose that figure for reference, I save it as yet ANOTHER scene (sometimes save pose presets, if I suspect I will need that pose again). The result is that my hard drive has filled up fast, and I'm sure this isn't the smartest or most efficient way to do things and organize my files.

If anyone can point me to a good tutorial on this sort of thing, or can simply tell me what I should be doing to make my life easier (and hard drive less full), I'd appreciate it. Thank you!

Comments

• A character preset will save shape and materials
    • A Wearables Preset will save all aprented items (hair, props, clothing)
    • A Pose preset will save a pose.

However, as long as you are using items that are already assets in DS format the size diffrence will not be enormous.

• Thank you, Richard! Good to know that the size of the files won't change that much. I guess that means that I can mostly just keep doing it like I have been doing it. It ain't pretty but it works!

• I hate contradicting richard, but he's wrong on this one regarding the file size.

the size difference between the different files types can vary significantly.

A compressed pose file, generally only takes up 4kb, uncompressed it's around 36kb +/-.

A character preset around 1mb(uncompressed), depending on complexity(shader information, morph data etc) and character base.