Is it better to use more than 3p light sources?

Hi there,

i'm new to daz. As far as I understand you have to put 3 point lights on interiors to get a better and faster rendering result. However, even though I did that it takes literally forever to render that one scene I've done with Itray. It's bin over 1 hr and the progress is still at 20%. I'm using the following render settings: Max Samples: 5000, Max Time: 0, Rendering Quality: Off, Ratio 98% and Rendering Quality: 2.0 with a Res of 1500x2000.

My Pc: i7 6700k, GTX 1080, 32 GB RAM

My question is, when I put more than 3 interior light sources will it be faster?. And should I raise the Rendering Quality to 5 or is it irrelevant for the outcome? I'm not really sure about Rendering Quality since I haven't seen any differences yet.

Thanks.

Comments

• JonnyRayJonnyRay Posts: 1,744

Higher Rendering Quality will actually slow down the render, but give you better results. 

More light helps with most Physically Based Rendering (PBR) engines like Iray. But that doesn't necessarily mean more light sources. If you're happy with the light / shadows you have now, you can just increase the lumens value on them. Also you can change the Max Paths value from zero (unlimted) to a number. That's basically how many times a light can bounce before Iray stops tracing it. Depending on your scene, you may find that 3 or 4 bounces is enough. You'll have to play around to see what works best for your scene.

• JonnyRay said:

Higher Rendering Quality will actually slow down the render, but give you better results.