Daz Studio Pro BETA - version 4.11.0.335! (*UPDATED*)

1212224262732

Comments

  • 3dOutlaw3dOutlaw Posts: 2,452
    edited March 2019

    So, what is the best way to uninstall the Beta?  (I have 4.10 installed, as well, but will leave that) Do I just delete the directory, or do I run an uninstaller?

    EDIT - Nevermind found it in DIM

    Post edited by 3dOutlaw on
  • 3dOutlaw3dOutlaw Posts: 2,452
    edited March 2019

    Well, to wrap up this issue, I used DDU to remove all of my Nvidia graphics drivers and started with a clean install of 416.34 (which worked last week), but still the Post Denoiser crashes the GPU and switches to CPU.  Seems odd that it was working just a week ago, and now I can't get it working at all.  It's a shame, as I have grown to rely on it for faster renders.  :(   Hope they get it resolved, and it does not signal a death bell for the Maxwell architecture GPU's in the next release.

    If anyone is running a 960m on a laptop, and has the Post Denoiser in the public Beta working, I would love to know which driver you are using!  I am trying one last attempt with a Clean install of 417.71, which everyone said helped them about 3 pages back.

    Edit - Failed still, I give up...ugh, I need a new hobby

    For the record I tried:

    • 419.35
    • 419.17
    • 418.81
    • 417.71
    • 416.81
    • 416.34
    Post edited by 3dOutlaw on
  • What would be nice is a new Public Beta. :)

  • marius_ifmarius_if Posts: 46

    @3doutlaw

    you should use the custom install option from nvidia driver and there you will find the option to perform a clean install.

    ddu ppu ffu and other "smart" toys may break registry data and not only.

    I'd suggest you uninstall from device manager all your video cards drivers and then perform a clean - from custom install option - install to 419.67

    don't forget to update as well your OS.

    as our friends suggested, after all drivers are installed, check again in rendering options your nvidia cards are checked to render scenes.

    I assume I should not mention your nvidia control panel, power option must be maximum performance if your rig is a desktop.

    I hope it helps with your problem.

     

     

  • 3dOutlaw3dOutlaw Posts: 2,452

    Hi Marius_if, thanks for the tips!  

  • Dolce SaitoDolce Saito Posts: 86
    edited March 2019
    • ...

    • Allow additional UV sets to be accessed in the RenderMan rendering pipeline; parity with the NVIDIA Iray rendering pipeline; limit 4

    DAZ Studio : Incremented build number to 4.11.0.319

     

    Am I seeing things or Daz has always been using the Pixar's rendering engine? O_o

    Post edited by Dolce Saito on
    • ...

    • Allow additional UV sets to be accessed in the RenderMan rendering pipeline; parity with the NVIDIA Iray rendering pipeline; limit 4

    DAZ Studio : Incremented build number to 4.11.0.319

     

    Am I seeing things or Daz has always been using the Pixar's rendering engine? O_o

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RenderMan

    RenderMan Shading Language, a component of the RenderMan Interface Specification used to define shaders

  • @DoctorJellybean: That was the fastest response I have ever got :)

    I've been checking changelog lots of  time in a day and I can easily tell that another beta would drop like a rock right now.

    You guys have been fixing soooo many things since the previous beta. I've been constantly noticing ever-increasing Dforce version also, which creates an impression either stability or performance (maybe both) will be increased in the next beta.

    Daz changelog for life!

  • Leonides02Leonides02 Posts: 1,336
    edited March 2019

    My Beta is suddenly taking an extremely long time to load and save even simple scenes. We're talking 3 - 5 minutes for even simple scenes, so much so that my PC registers the program as "Not Responding." 4.10 isn't having the same issue.

    The log file isn't particularly helpful. Is it choking on morphs?

    There's lots of this:

    2019-03-21 23:16:39.646 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\cloud\dzcloudtasknotifier.cpp(178): recv failed errno=10054
    2019-03-21 23:17:38.655 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: head:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Female/Morphs/Zev0/Growing%20Up/head_CTRLMD_N_XRotate_n27.dsf#CTRLMD_N_XRotate_n27?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Female/Morphs/Zev0/Aging%20Morphs%203/NeckLowerBendHead2SH2.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:38.659 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: head:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Female/Morphs/Zev0/Growing%20Up/head_CTRLMD_N_XRotate_n27.dsf#CTRLMD_N_XRotate_n27?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Female/Morphs/Zev0/Aging%20Morphs%203/NeckBendLowerHead1SH1.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:38.659 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: head:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Female/Morphs/Zev0/Growing%20Up/head_CTRLMD_N_XRotate_n27.dsf#CTRLMD_N_XRotate_n27?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Female/Morphs/Zev0/Aging%20Morphs%203/NeckBendHead1SH1.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:38.715 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: lShldr:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Female/Morphs/Zev0/Growing%20Up/lShldrBend_CTRLMD_N_YRotate_40.dsf#CTRLMD_N_YRotate_40?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Female/Morphs/Zev0/Aging%20Morphs%203/LeftAB1Armbendfixback1.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:38.934 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: rShldr:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Female/Morphs/Zev0/Growing%20Up/rShldrBend_CTRLMD_N_YRotate_n40.dsf#CTRLMD_N_YRotate_n40?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Female/Morphs/Zev0/Aging%20Morphs%203/BendfixRShoulderBendSH1.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:38.938 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: lShldr:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Female/Morphs/Zev0/Growing%20Up/lShldrBend_CTRLMD_N_YRotate_40.dsf#CTRLMD_N_YRotate_40?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Female/Morphs/Zev0/Aging%20Morphs%203/BendfixLShoulderBendSH2BendBack.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:46.245 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5746): Could not find output property for formula: Genesis3Female:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Female/Morphs/Fisty/LuneNails/PBMLuneNailsSquare.dsf#PBMLuneNailsSquare?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Female/Morphs/Chevybabe25/Vincenzina/Vincenzina%20Body.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:50.292 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: Genesis3Male:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Slosh/Genesis%202%20Legacies/FBMScott6.dsf#FBMScott6?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Bend%20Control/Smoother%20Scott%206%20R.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:50.292 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: Genesis3Male:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Slosh/Genesis%202%20Legacies/FBMScott6.dsf#FBMScott6?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Bend%20Control/Smoother%20Scott%206%20L.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:50.297 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: Genesis3Male:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Slosh/Genesis%202%20Legacies/FBMMichael6.dsf#FBMMichael6?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Bend%20Control/Smoother%20Michael%206%20R.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:50.297 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: Genesis3Male:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Slosh/Genesis%202%20Legacies/FBMMichael6.dsf#FBMMichael6?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Bend%20Control/Smoother%20Michael%206%20L.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:50.300 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: Genesis3Male:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Slosh/Genesis%202%20Legacies/FBMLee6.dsf#FBMLee6?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Bend%20Control/Smoother%20Lee%206%20R.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:50.300 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: Genesis3Male:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Slosh/Genesis%202%20Legacies/FBMLee6.dsf#FBMLee6?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Bend%20Control/Smoother%20Lee%206%20L.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:50.303 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: Genesis3Male:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Growing%20Up/Youth%20Morph.dsf#Youth%20Morph?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Bend%20Control/Smoother%20Growing%20Up%20R.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:50.303 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: Genesis3Male:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Growing%20Up/Youth%20Morph.dsf#Youth%20Morph?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Bend%20Control/Smoother%20Growing%20Up%20L.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:50.307 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: Genesis3Male:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Slosh/Genesis%202%20Legacies/FBMGianni.dsf#FBMGianni?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Bend%20Control/Smoother%20Gianni%206%20R.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:50.307 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: Genesis3Male:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Slosh/Genesis%202%20Legacies/FBMGianni.dsf#FBMGianni?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Bend%20Control/Smoother%20Gianni%206%20L.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:50.310 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: Genesis3Male:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Slosh/Genesis%202%20Legacies/Genesis2Body.dsf#Genesis2Body?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Bend%20Control/Smoother%20Genesis%202%20Male%20R.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:50.310 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: Genesis3Male:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Slosh/Genesis%202%20Legacies/Genesis2Body.dsf#Genesis2Body?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Bend%20Control/Smoother%20Genesis%202%20Male%20L.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:50.313 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: Genesis3Male:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Slosh/Genesis%202%20Legacies/FBMDarius6.dsf#FBMDarius6?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Bend%20Control/Smoother%20Darius%206%20R.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:17:50.313 WARNING: ..\..\..\..\..\src\sdksource\fileinput\dzassetdaz.cpp(5804): Could not find target property for formula: Genesis3Male:/data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Slosh/Genesis%202%20Legacies/FBMDarius6.dsf#FBMDarius6?value in file : /data/DAZ%203D/Genesis%203/Male/Morphs/Zev0/Bend%20Control/Smoother%20Darius%206%20L.dsf

    Followed by this:

    2019-03-21 23:18:08.445 File loaded in 2 min 56.9 sec.
    2019-03-21 23:18:08.472 Loaded Morph Deltas in 0 min 0.0 sec.
    2019-03-21 23:18:08.472 Loaded file: PHMSYFOEFaceShape06.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:18:08.485 Loaded Morph Deltas in 0 min 0.0 sec.
    2019-03-21 23:18:08.485 Loaded file: PHMSYFOEFaceShape05.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:18:08.535 Loaded Morph Deltas in 0 min 0.0 sec.
    2019-03-21 23:18:08.535 Loaded file: PHMSYFOEFaceShape04.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:18:08.547 Loaded Morph Deltas in 0 min 0.0 sec.
    2019-03-21 23:18:08.547 Loaded file: PHMSYFOEFaceShape02.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:18:08.558 Loaded Morph Deltas in 0 min 0.0 sec.
    2019-03-21 23:18:08.558 Loaded file: PHMSYFOEBrow04.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:18:08.567 Loaded Morph Deltas in 0 min 0.0 sec.
    2019-03-21 23:18:08.570 Loaded file: PHMSYFEUndereye01.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:18:08.581 Loaded Morph Deltas in 0 min 0.0 sec.
    2019-03-21 23:18:08.581 Loaded file: PHMSYFEEyes06.dsf
    2019-03-21 23:18:08.591 Loaded Morph Deltas in 0 min 0.0 sec.

     

    It was working perfectly last week and I don't believe I changed anything...

      

    Post edited by Leonides02 on
  • Leonides02Leonides02 Posts: 1,336

    Hm. It's also having the same issue when I attempt to load a figure into a scene.

    I might try to reinstall!

    • ...

    • Allow additional UV sets to be accessed in the RenderMan rendering pipeline; parity with the NVIDIA Iray rendering pipeline; limit 4

    DAZ Studio : Incremented build number to 4.11.0.319

     

    Am I seeing things or Daz has always been using the Pixar's rendering engine? O_o

     

    Nvidia did make mention that they were adding Universal Scene Description (USD) from Pixar into RTX 

    https://developer.nvidia.com/rtx

  • Leonides02Leonides02 Posts: 1,336

    Hm. It's also having the same issue when I attempt to load a figure into a scene.

    I might try to reinstall!

    Well the re-install appears to have fixed things, although I'm still receiving a few errors on the morphs. I suspect it's because I don't own those particular figures.

    • ...

    • Allow additional UV sets to be accessed in the RenderMan rendering pipeline; parity with the NVIDIA Iray rendering pipeline; limit 4

    DAZ Studio : Incremented build number to 4.11.0.319

     

    Am I seeing things or Daz has always been using the Pixar's rendering engine? O_o

     

    Nvidia did make mention that they were adding Universal Scene Description (USD) from Pixar into RTX 

    https://developer.nvidia.com/rtx

    That doesn't appear to match up with the change log, which makes no mention of requiring RTX hardware and is about the Renderman (which we are assumig means 3Delight natively) pipeline.

  • Hm. It's also having the same issue when I attempt to load a figure into a scene.

    I might try to reinstall!

    Well the re-install appears to have fixed things, although I'm still receiving a few errors on the morphs. I suspect it's because I don't own those particular figures.

    Yes, if a character or morph set has corrections for things you don't have then it won't be able to resolve the links - but that doesn't matter since, by definition, you don't have the shape the correction is needed for.

  • 3dOutlaw3dOutlaw Posts: 2,452

    As a note, I have found that anything 418 or later drivers with a GTX 960M fails to render anything at all in DS 4.10 (or later).  The later drivers work great for gaming, but DS iray rendering is dead.  417.71 is as far as I can get.  Here are the logs failure, fyi  (this is not related to the denoiser, as I have moved on to the Intel Open Image Denoiser as postwork instead):

    2019-03-22 09:28:59.789 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating geometry.
    2019-03-22 09:29:01.525 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Using built-in ray tracing (1.0.0).
    2019-03-22 09:29:01.525 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Importing scene graph.
    2019-03-22 09:29:01.534 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Importing geometry.
    2019-03-22 09:29:02.802 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Geometry import (1 object with 957k triangles, 1 instance yielding 957k triangles) took 1.267414
    2019-03-22 09:29:02.809 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating materials.
    2019-03-22 09:29:02.920 Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER):   1.0   MATCNV rend info : found 202 textures, 0 lambdas (0 unique)
    2019-03-22 09:29:02.971 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating environment.
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.263 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating lens.
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.264 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating lights.
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.271 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating object flags.
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.273 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating caustic portals.
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.273 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating decals.
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.438 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Allocating 1 layer frame buffer
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.467 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Using batch scheduling, architectural sampler disabled, caustic sampler disabled
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.474 WARNING: dzneuraymgr.cpp(307): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend error: Cannot render: found no usable devices.
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.474 Iray Render error: Invalid parameters (NULL pointer).
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.764 Saved image: C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\DAZ 3D\Studio4\temp\render\r.png
    2019-03-22 09:29:06.057 Finished Rendering
    2019-03-22 09:29:06.249 Total Rendering Time: 22.19 seconds

    This is just an FYI, as I rolled back to 417 and am fine, so will not submit a tech support ticket.

  • 3dOutlaw said:

    As a note, I have found that anything 418 or later drivers with a GTX 960M fails to render anything at all in DS 4.10 (or later).  The later drivers work great for gaming, but DS iray rendering is dead.  417.71 is as far as I can get.  Here are the logs failure, fyi  (this is not related to the denoiser, as I have moved on to the Intel Open Image Denoiser as postwork instead):

    2019-03-22 09:28:59.789 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating geometry.
    2019-03-22 09:29:01.525 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Using built-in ray tracing (1.0.0).
    2019-03-22 09:29:01.525 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Importing scene graph.
    2019-03-22 09:29:01.534 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Importing geometry.
    2019-03-22 09:29:02.802 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Geometry import (1 object with 957k triangles, 1 instance yielding 957k triangles) took 1.267414
    2019-03-22 09:29:02.809 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating materials.
    2019-03-22 09:29:02.920 Iray INFO - module:category(MATCNV:RENDER):   1.0   MATCNV rend info : found 202 textures, 0 lambdas (0 unique)
    2019-03-22 09:29:02.971 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating environment.
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.263 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating lens.
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.264 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating lights.
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.271 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating object flags.
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.273 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating caustic portals.
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.273 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Updating decals.
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.438 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Allocating 1 layer frame buffer
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.467 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend info : Using batch scheduling, architectural sampler disabled, caustic sampler disabled
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.474 WARNING: dzneuraymgr.cpp(307): Iray ERROR - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.0   IRAY   rend error: Cannot render: found no usable devices.
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.474 Iray Render error: Invalid parameters (NULL pointer).
    2019-03-22 09:29:05.764 Saved image: C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\DAZ 3D\Studio4\temp\render\r.png
    2019-03-22 09:29:06.057 Finished Rendering
    2019-03-22 09:29:06.249 Total Rendering Time: 22.19 seconds

    This is just an FYI, as I rolled back to 417 and am fine, so will not submit a tech support ticket.

    What is your operating system version?

  • 3dOutlaw3dOutlaw Posts: 2,452

    Windows 10

  • The specs I found say it's a Maxwell chip, and nVidia certainly seems to think it's supported by the new drivers.

  • altotrealtotre Posts: 6

    how to access to private beta of daz ? 

  • RobinsonRobinson Posts: 751
    edited March 2019

    I have a 2070 and have experienced some Daz crashes using the denoiser (recently) with 4.11 beta.  I have 419.17 drivers.  I'm willing to believe NVIDIA are still ironing the bugs out of RTX generation and that this isn't a Daz issue. At least one occassion my display drivers crashed (Windows reloaded them, as it does).  Turning off the denoiser fixes the issue.   Note this isn't every time.  Just sometimes.

     

    Edit: I was rendering at 4k.

    Post edited by Robinson on
  • altotre said:

    how to access to private beta of daz ? 

    Probably not available to those outside of DAZ3D or those that sell here.

  • altotre said:

    how to access to private beta of daz ? 

    By being invited to participate. Making good quality bug reports (to the Techinical Help department https://www.daz3d.com/help/help-contact-us ) might earn you interest, though I have no idea what the actual criteria are.

  • Leonides02Leonides02 Posts: 1,336

    Hm. Somebody mentioned a few pages back about an error which forced you to restart the Beta in order to re-run the simulation.

    That is currently still happening, it seems. This is the first time it has come up for me, but it's quite irritating.

    Basically, once I run the similation, I can't "CLEAR SIMULATION DATA" without the program then not recognizing any dforce objects in the scene......

  • Hm. Somebody mentioned a few pages back about an error which forced you to restart the Beta in order to re-run the simulation.

    That is currently still happening, it seems. This is the first time it has come up for me, but it's quite irritating.

    Basically, once I run the similation, I can't "CLEAR SIMULATION DATA" without the program then not recognizing any dforce objects in the scene......

    If there's an error in dForce it is often, in my experience, necessary to restart DS - to the point that I do it automatically (though it hasn't happened for a while). Still, that particular combination is new to me.

  • Leonides02Leonides02 Posts: 1,336

    Hm. Somebody mentioned a few pages back about an error which forced you to restart the Beta in order to re-run the simulation.

    That is currently still happening, it seems. This is the first time it has come up for me, but it's quite irritating.

    Basically, once I run the similation, I can't "CLEAR SIMULATION DATA" without the program then not recognizing any dforce objects in the scene......

    If there's an error in dForce it is often, in my experience, necessary to restart DS - to the point that I do it automatically (though it hasn't happened for a while). Still, that particular combination is new to me.

    What's odd is -- far as I can tell -- there's been no error. It's simply that dforce no longer sees any dforce materials in the scene.

    Once I reload the scene (I actually don't need to restart Daz, I discovered), I can run the simulation again. However, if I don't like the results I again need to restart.

  • takezo_3001takezo_3001 Posts: 1,515
    edited March 2019

    @DoctorJellybean: That was the fastest response I have ever got :)

    I've been checking changelog lots of  time in a day and I can easily tell that another beta would drop like a rock right now.

    You guys have been fixing soooo many things since the previous beta. I've been constantly noticing ever-increasing Dforce version also, which creates an impression either stability or performance (maybe both) will be increased in the next beta.

    Daz changelog for life!

    This is effincouraging to say the least! This has dissipated my fears/bolstered my confidence with the Daz Devs; I now look forward to the next versions coming out soon, thanks DAZ!

    EDITED TO ADD: The one thing about Daz's beta increased stability is that they often make the general releases nearly obsolete in comparison ironically enough!

    Post edited by takezo_3001 on
  • areg5areg5 Posts: 599

    Just installed the latest Nvidia driver, and the latest Beta.  It was recommended that I do so to try out the denoiser.  I had been running the latest 4.10 version.  With the denoiser tabs on, the rendering time is markedly reduced, and I don't see any degradation of the render.  With the Sickleyield benchmark, my time is about 1 minute using 4.10 and 48 seconds using Beta.  More impressive is the time savings on actual scenes.  I rendered the same complex scene with both.  4.10 timed at 21 minutes, the Beta at 7!  I don't know what you guys did, but keep doing it!

    1 issue:  I use the batch rendering product.  It was designed for 3delight, but works just fine with Iray.  There is an issue in the Beta in that it does not completely clear the VRAM cache after a render.  Usually 1-2 gig of memory does not clear.  It isn't additive.  In other words, during batch rendering the usage climbs, and in between renders the usage always goes down to around the same amount.  With 4.10, the cache completely clears with each render down to 0.  So if you guys can fix that issue, from my standpoint, this is a perfect update.

  • Leonides02Leonides02 Posts: 1,336

     

    areg5 said:

    1 issue:  I use the batch rendering product.  It was designed for 3delight, but works just fine with Iray.  There is an issue in the Beta in that it does not completely clear the VRAM cache after a render.  Usually 1-2 gig of memory does not clear.  It isn't additive.  In other words, during batch rendering the usage climbs, and in between renders the usage always goes down to around the same amount.  With 4.10, the cache completely clears with each render down to 0.  So if you guys can fix that issue, from my standpoint, this is a perfect update.

    Unfortunately, I've noticed this issue as well -- but not until I left 3 scenes rendering overnight, only to wakeup and see I'd been switched to CPU. :-|

     

     

  • paulbungardpaulbungard Posts: 52
    edited March 2019

    A friend of mine is having a weird issue with 4.11 beta where his 4 x 1080ti's rendering in Iray and stop rendering and it goes to CPU 

    I have found that having Optix Prime acceleration on can cause Iray to fall back to CPU rendering especially when using more than one GPU.  Sometimes it's also good to uncheck the CPU in advanced setting too

     

    Post edited by paulbungard on
This discussion has been closed.