how to create a 3Delight glass shader ?

3Delight is renderman compliant and extrremely powerful from what I seen over the web and in movies (District 9)

so I want to dive into it but could need a starting point and perhaps how to create a glass shader tutorial might just get me started

does anyone know a very good tutorial for absolute beginners?

YouTube wasn't a great help as it was for Maya and was only showing basic install and test

Comments

• Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 97,233

Are you specifically wanting to create a new shader, or do you just want a glass material?

• Are you specifically wanting to create a new shader, or do you just want a glass material?

yes, I like to learn the workflow creating 3Delight shaders from scratch (shader bricks)

it's Renderman compliant but first I would like to learn it without scripting

• Mustakettu85Mustakettu85 Posts: 2,933
    seegsons said:

Are you specifically wanting to create a new shader, or do you just want a glass material?

yes, I like to learn the workflow creating 3Delight shaders from scratch (shader bricks)

If you serious that you want to create new 3Delight shaders for DS, it's plain best to dive in and learn RSL. And DAZ Scripting too.

Shader Mixer was supposed to let the user comp RSL shaders using "bricks", but let's just say it's a) buggy; b) limited.

Shader Builder will let you import just about any RSL source (not RSL 2.0, though) and then customise rendertime scripts should your shader require any RiAttribute controls. It will generate basic DS interface scripts automagically.

Of course, you have to remember that RSL as a shading language is basically obsolete - Renderman stopped using it a while ago, and 3Delight's actual current pathtracer is strictly OSL-based, but there's no easy way to leverage this from DS. Whether we ever get official OSLtracer support now that DS is Iray-dominated is unknown.

But it remains a good enough introduction to basic shading concepts.