Decal help

Hi,

I saw that new https://www.daz3d.com/wetfx-decal--shader-kit product, and it looked really nice, so it got me thinking about how decals really work? PA also has another https://www.daz3d.com/iray-clothing-decal-kit that I'm interested. Since I have zero experience how decals really work, I thought I'll ask before I buy them.

1) Do those decals stay in place, even if I pose my character again. Like do they have some universal cordinates, or do they follow character/cloth local cordinates. Like if I put an oil stain in front of the shirt, then pose character again, does that oil stain end up in back in the worst case scenario? I hope to make a game one day, so I need to make several renders of same characters with same clothes in different poses and locations.

2) I'm hoping to move to Eevee once it's ready, so I wonder if it's possible to export decals outside of DS

Comments

• RAMWolffRAMWolff Posts: 10,142

I too have a question so thought I'd post in your thread.  I have no idea what the difference is between decal and using the LIE tool. The LIE tool for me has always worked slow as mud so I avoid it at all costs so if a published artist releases a new product or character that uses mostly LIE presets I avoid it.  If decal is faster and just as reLIEable cheeky then I may consider this product as it looks quite useful! 

• KindredArtsKindredArts Posts: 1,217
    Mendoman said:

Hi,

I saw that new https://www.daz3d.com/wetfx-decal--shader-kit product, and it looked really nice, so it got me thinking about how decals really work? PA also has another https://www.daz3d.com/iray-clothing-decal-kit that I'm interested. Since I have zero experience how decals really work, I thought I'll ask before I buy them.