Installing third party files - proper file path

Okay, so I went a little crazy and downloaded a bunch of freebie add-ons for Daz from sharecg, heromorph and deviantart.

For the most part everything is good. I know you usually need to copy the data, people and runtime folders to the My Library folder on your computer. 

However, a few of these are not properly organized and confusing.

A couple of the folders are just full of loose files when I open them like; .dae, .dsf, .dsf, .duf, .trx, .obj, .mtl, .png etc. 

Any idea which files should go to which folders?

Also, a couple other folders have more folders inside of them than I expected. Aside from data, people and runtime, they have folders named templates, textures, figures, presets, props, etc. I think some of these need to be moved or copied into runtime or data or something. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance. 

Comments

• Keeping in mind that I am a total beginner at this, I did find this video helpful

• That works great, my challenge is when a third party hasn't organized their files into the folders and all the files are loose. Where do I put all the .duf., .dae., .trx files etc. 

• I have no idea. I was hoping the video would give you a clue. Sorry

• jestmartjestmart Posts: 4,449

When I get freebies with the files all loose I just delete it, to me that suggests that they don't really know what they are doing and that makes the item suspect (as in did they actually make it).

• Freightliner FoxFreightliner Fox Posts: 67
    edited April 2018