Need help with AoA's Advanced Lights

Good Afternoon (or whatever time it is wherever you may be), 

I've been following a breadcrumb trail through the Forums hoping to reduce the render times for items using transparency maps in 3Delight...on advice located elsewhere I have purchased Age of Armours Advanced Lighting Bundle and installed...unfortunately I'm a bit of a noob and have no idea what I'm doing with them...the User Guide is way too vague and assumes prior knowledge I just don't possess.

I can set them up and use them as an alternative set of lights, don't get me wrong...but I can't get my head around how to divide the surfaces correctly. 

My example: I have a scene containing Hermes Hair and Mythos Collar and wrists, which slows to a crawl when rendering these three specific items. I'm aware that the Advanced Lights let me divide the scene, allowing "flagged" items to be rendered with different sample rates, what I don't understand is the "flagging" system...in my niavety I'd hoped there would be a nice simple dropdown menu that included "Transparencies" as an option.

The Diffuse Strength, Ambient Strength and Index of Refraction options don't make any sense to me, and the Garibaldi Hair Shader option seems to have disappeared from the face of the planet (I found the homepage, but the link to the Daz store gives a "Not Found" result, and doesn't seem to be available to purchase/download any more).