Bryce 1.0 MacWorld ad, August 1994

edited January 11 in Bryce Discussion

I found this ad in a back issue of MacWorld magazine, August, 1994. The suggested retail price was $199. Which is equivalent to $331 in 2018.

 

 

1994-AUG.jpg
489 x 680 - 254K
Post edited by dunestrider_b1b336e4ae on

Comments

  • Rashad CarterRashad Carter Posts: 1,573

    Nice!!!

  • Peter FulfordPeter Fulford Posts: 1,325

    A great find.

    I remember "Kai's Power Tools" being a prominent marketing brand in the early CGI magazines (mostly Mac dominated, of course). Weird to think of Bryce presented as just one of those tools.

  • HoroHoro Posts: 5,818
    edited January 11

    Very nice find. I have KPT3 installed, it still works in Bryce 7.1 though it's a bit limitted meanwhile.

    KPT3

     

    KPT3.jpg
    593 x 228 - 35K
    Post edited by Horo on
  • Here is a review of Bryce 1.0 from MacWorld (Dec 1994), and another ad from MacWorld, Feb 1995.

     

    DEC94review.jpg
    334 x 701 - 223K
    FEB95.jpg
    553 x 770 - 327K
  • mermaid010mermaid010 Posts: 2,016

    I remember using Photoshop filters in Bryce 5.5 but I completely forgot how I used them. Anyone with a quick tutorial on how to use them in 7.1pro. I'm still using Photoshop Cs Version 7laugh

  • @dunestride: Thanks a lot for sharing. Enjoyed it. The conclusion of the review made me quite a bit nostalgic.

    @mermaid010: I'm afraid, I have no idea. Didn't know, that's it is possible to use Photoshop filters directly in Bryce
     

  • HansmarHansmar Posts: 1,147

    Dunestride: thanks, great to see this early history.

  • HoroHoro Posts: 5,818

    mermaid - no tutorial necessary. Look at the picture above with the KPT3 plug in. Click on "Select Plug-ins Folder ..." and navigate to your PhotoShop plug-in folder. If it doesn't appear in the list (like my example above), it isn't compatible. If it appears in the list and you click on it, a drop-down like the one above pops up. Click on a filter and the respective plug-in filter dialog appears.

  • S RayS Ray Posts: 170

    Flaming Pear, Kpt 5 and 6 will work in Bryce . My KPT3 installer will not run on Win 10

    BrycePlug-ins.jpg
    215 x 97 - 32K
  • eworkseworks Posts: 6

    Since Bryce was developed for Mac isn't time to get it running on a Mac? Otherwise your business might be considered fraudulant! We have been waiting for a few years now and nothing happen. Time to commit to your customer who are Mac user. We have been waiting a very loooooooong time. In your selling strategy you have never made mention that Bryce 7 Pro will not work on Mac. Is that not dishonesty? Don't come with excuses to sideload using Windows blah, blah, blah. There is a good reason why people have not been using WIndows, especially version10!

  • ChoholeChohole Posts: 28,083
    eworks said:

    Since Bryce was developed for Mac isn't time to get it running on a Mac? Otherwise your business might be considered fraudulant! We have been waiting for a few years now and nothing happen. Time to commit to your customer who are Mac user. We have been waiting a very loooooooong time. In your selling strategy you have never made mention that Bryce 7 Pro will not work on Mac. Is that not dishonesty? Don't come with excuses to sideload using Windows blah, blah, blah. There is a good reason why people have not been using WIndows, especially version10!

    The store page fror Bryce 7 says quite clearly

    Bryce 7 Pro is not currently compatible with MacOS 10.7 and above. Please do not use it with these platforms. Bryce WILL work with 10.6.

    https://www.daz3d.com/bryce-7-pro 

  • JD_MortalJD_Mortal Posts: 461
    edited April 28

    Apple suggests that you just install windows on your Mac/PC.

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201468

    Mac is no-longer anything more than an OS. All the hardware is just crippled versions of normal PC hardware. (Intel/Pentium, minus the "things that make it faster for windows". Nvidia, minus the "things that make it faster for windows". Etc...)

    Though windows will run, it will run slower... Since those parts of the hardware have been removed, or "denied access", on a Mac. It will still do them, just without the acceleration.

    I think Apple will eventually just kill the OS and make APPS for windows. It requires less effort and is more cost-effective than trying to reshape all the hardware to run on a MAC/OS. We will be back to two choices, LINUX and WINDOWS. Maybe GOOGLES too...

    Post edited by JD_Mortal on
  • Dan WhitesideDan Whiteside Posts: 299

    Apple sold 19.7 million Macs in 2017 (according to thier shareholders report) making it the fourth largest computer manufactoring company in the world. Could Apple kill off the Mac, well sure but they seldom do that to a profitable line of products. Just saying...

  • NimosNimos Posts: 36

    Hi folks!  Been a long time.  Was expecting to see Bryce 12.5 by now, but no such luck.  Looked at the latest DazStudio ... it looks very interesting.  I think it could be a reasonable substitute for Bryce with the following changes:

    1.  Add a terrain generator at least as good as the Bryce one.

    2.  Simplify the whole texturing - shading - materials process.

    3.  Implement a friendly way to add fog, clouds, haze and suns.

    But the way DS saves models, by splitting it up into 3 huge databases, is questionable ... and probably not possible to change.

Sign In or Register to comment.