Titan Volta

Does anybody experienced the new Titan V? How fast is rendering? Or is it better to buy 2 Titan Xp (which are cheaper than one Titan V)?

Comments

  • JamesJABJamesJAB Posts: 1,278

    As of right now, Iray (the version that is with Daz Studio) will probably need to be updated too add support for Volta GPUs.

    When the GTX 10xx series cards came out we had to wait for an update that added Pascal support.

  • OZ-84OZ-84 Posts: 95
    JamesJAB said:

    As of right now, Iray (the version that is with Daz Studio) will probably need to be updated too add support for Volta GPUs.

    When the GTX 10xx series cards came out we had to wait for an update that added Pascal support.

     

     

    Does anybody experienced the new Titan V? How fast is rendering? Or is it better to buy 2 Titan Xp (which are cheaper than one Titan V)?

    Benchmarks already made in other aplications show that the Titan V is max 30% faster. I see no reason to buy it. At least if you dont need those extram memory. 

  • JamesJABJamesJAB Posts: 1,278
    edited January 2
    OZ-84 said:
    JamesJAB said:

    As of right now, Iray (the version that is with Daz Studio) will probably need to be updated too add support for Volta GPUs.

    When the GTX 10xx series cards came out we had to wait for an update that added Pascal support.

     

     

    Does anybody experienced the new Titan V? How fast is rendering? Or is it better to buy 2 Titan Xp (which are cheaper than one Titan V)?

    Benchmarks already made in other aplications show that the Titan V is max 30% faster. I see no reason to buy it. At least if you dont need those extram memory. 

    The key will not be in the pure brute force rendering power.  It will be the Tensor cores performing deep learning AI opperations to de-noise the image leading to a much faster completed render.
    So using brute force rendering will be 30% faster... untill the Tensor cores start cleaning up the noisy parts of the render.

    Post edited by JamesJAB on
  • JamesJAB said:
    OZ-84 said:
    JamesJAB said:

    As of right now, Iray (the version that is with Daz Studio) will probably need to be updated too add support for Volta GPUs.

    When the GTX 10xx series cards came out we had to wait for an update that added Pascal support.

     

     

    Does anybody experienced the new Titan V? How fast is rendering? Or is it better to buy 2 Titan Xp (which are cheaper than one Titan V)?

    Benchmarks already made in other aplications show that the Titan V is max 30% faster. I see no reason to buy it. At least if you dont need those extram memory. 

    The key will not be in the pure brute force rendering power.  It will be the Tensor cores performing deep learning AI opperations to de-noise the image leading to a much faster completed render.
    So using brute force rendering will be 30% faster... untill the Tensor cores start cleaning up the noisy parts of the render.

    That would be nice.
  • chrbou2001chrbou2001 Posts: 107
    JamesJAB said:
    OZ-84 said:
    JamesJAB said:

    As of right now, Iray (the version that is with Daz Studio) will probably need to be updated too add support for Volta GPUs.

    When the GTX 10xx series cards came out we had to wait for an update that added Pascal support.

     

     

    Does anybody experienced the new Titan V? How fast is rendering? Or is it better to buy 2 Titan Xp (which are cheaper than one Titan V)?

    Benchmarks already made in other aplications show that the Titan V is max 30% faster. I see no reason to buy it. At least if you dont need those extram memory. 

    The key will not be in the pure brute force rendering power.  It will be the Tensor cores performing deep learning AI opperations to de-noise the image leading to a much faster completed render.
    So using brute force rendering will be 30% faster... untill the Tensor cores start cleaning up the noisy parts of the render.

    So i think we have to wait for a Studio update to see if the Volta has more power for Iray rendering.

  • OZ-84OZ-84 Posts: 95
    JamesJAB said:
    OZ-84 said:
    JamesJAB said:

    As of right now, Iray (the version that is with Daz Studio) will probably need to be updated too add support for Volta GPUs.

    When the GTX 10xx series cards came out we had to wait for an update that added Pascal support.

     

     

    Does anybody experienced the new Titan V? How fast is rendering? Or is it better to buy 2 Titan Xp (which are cheaper than one Titan V)?

    Benchmarks already made in other aplications show that the Titan V is max 30% faster. I see no reason to buy it. At least if you dont need those extram memory. 

    The key will not be in the pure brute force rendering power.  It will be the Tensor cores performing deep learning AI opperations to de-noise the image leading to a much faster completed render.
    So using brute force rendering will be 30% faster... untill the Tensor cores start cleaning up the noisy parts of the render.

    So i think we have to wait for a Studio update to see if the Volta has more power for Iray rendering.

    Oh wow! If this would work like shown in the video and without loss of sharpness ... i would instantly buy the card and sell my 1080tis ;-) does anybody know if this really will be a feature we will be able to use?

  • JamesJABJamesJAB Posts: 1,278
    OZ-84 said:
    JamesJAB said:
    OZ-84 said:
    JamesJAB said:

    As of right now, Iray (the version that is with Daz Studio) will probably need to be updated too add support for Volta GPUs.

    When the GTX 10xx series cards came out we had to wait for an update that added Pascal support.

     

     

    Does anybody experienced the new Titan V? How fast is rendering? Or is it better to buy 2 Titan Xp (which are cheaper than one Titan V)?

    Benchmarks already made in other aplications show that the Titan V is max 30% faster. I see no reason to buy it. At least if you dont need those extram memory. 

    The key will not be in the pure brute force rendering power.  It will be the Tensor cores performing deep learning AI opperations to de-noise the image leading to a much faster completed render.
    So using brute force rendering will be 30% faster... untill the Tensor cores start cleaning up the noisy parts of the render.

    So i think we have to wait for a Studio update to see if the Volta has more power for Iray rendering.

    Oh wow! If this would work like shown in the video and without loss of sharpness ... i would instantly buy the card and sell my 1080tis ;-) does anybody know if this really will be a feature we will be able to use?

    For that, we will need to wait and see how and if the AI deep learning de-noising makes it down to Volta equipped consumer Iray rendering.

  • JD_MortalJD_Mortal Posts: 353
    edited January 8

    They just have to update the core IRay files, Opti-X is already setup to run. Default is "enabled", I believe. But, this version is only Opti-X 4 I think... (Last I checked, version 5 is only in the SDK for IRay. Thus, unless you remote-render, you will have to wait for nVidia to release Opti-X 5 into consumer builds. Then, Daz has to update the package they build, to include it.)

    Actually, you can get that same noise-removal, with cheap code. It just "guesses" the shade, by looking at the adjacent pixels "shade values". It already knows the colors, they are in the image-maps. I do a post-work trick, to do that same thing. However, the card does it a LOT faster than me doing it all by hand. :P

    I will have four cards soon. I will post all possible benchmarks, in comparison against my "GTX Titan X".

    https://developer.nvidia.com/optix-denoiser

    The training data was given to an auto encoder similar to the one described in the paper. The result is an AI-accelerated denoiser which we will include in the Optix 5.0 SDK.

    https://news.developer.nvidia.com/profiling-the-ai-performance-boost-in-optix-5/

    Even cards without the core will see gains from OptiX 5.

    P.S. That video was done with the equivalent of 4x Titan-V's. 

    Post edited by JD_Mortal on
  • I've just got my Titan V and I've just learned that it doesn't work in DS (.123) right now. It sees it in the advanced tab tough... This is the part of the log:

     

    2018-01-10 19:33:06.049 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.1   IRAY   rend info : NVIDIA display driver version: 388.71
    2018-01-10 19:33:06.049 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.1   IRAY   rend info : Your NVIDIA driver supports CUDA version up to 9.1; iray requires CUDA version 8.0; all is good.
    2018-01-10 19:33:06.050 WARNING: dzneuraymgr.cpp(307): Iray WARNING - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.1   IRAY   rend warn : CUDA device 0 (TITAN V): compute capability 7.0: unsupported by this version of iray, please look for an update with your software provider.
    2018-01-10 19:33:06.060 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.1   IRAY   rend info : Using iray plugin version 4.6-beta, build 287000.7672 n, 23 May 2017, nt-x86-64-vc11.
    2018-01-10 19:33:06.060 WARNING: dzneuraymgr.cpp(307): Iray WARNING - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.1   IRAY   rend warn : GPU 1 (TITAN V) with CUDA compute capability 7.0 cannot be used by iray photoreal.
    2018-01-10 19:33:06.158 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.1   IRAY   rend info : CUDA device 1 (GeForce GTX 980): compute capability 5.2, 4 GiB total, 3.33002 GiB available

     

  • JamesJABJamesJAB Posts: 1,278

    I've just got my Titan V and I've just learned that it doesn't work in DS (.123) right now. It sees it in the advanced tab tough... This is the part of the log:

     

    2018-01-10 19:33:06.049 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.1   IRAY   rend info : NVIDIA display driver version: 388.71
    2018-01-10 19:33:06.049 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.1   IRAY   rend info : Your NVIDIA driver supports CUDA version up to 9.1; iray requires CUDA version 8.0; all is good.
    2018-01-10 19:33:06.050 WARNING: dzneuraymgr.cpp(307): Iray WARNING - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.1   IRAY   rend warn : CUDA device 0 (TITAN V): compute capability 7.0: unsupported by this version of iray, please look for an update with your software provider.
    2018-01-10 19:33:06.060 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.1   IRAY   rend info : Using iray plugin version 4.6-beta, build 287000.7672 n, 23 May 2017, nt-x86-64-vc11.
    2018-01-10 19:33:06.060 WARNING: dzneuraymgr.cpp(307): Iray WARNING - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.1   IRAY   rend warn : GPU 1 (TITAN V) with CUDA compute capability 7.0 cannot be used by iray photoreal.
    2018-01-10 19:33:06.158 Iray INFO - module:category(IRAY:RENDER):   1.1   IRAY   rend info : CUDA device 1 (GeForce GTX 980): compute capability 5.2, 4 GiB total, 3.33002 GiB available

     

    Not too wory, your card is not broken
    You are experiencing the same thing that Geforce GTX 10xx users dealt with.  The part where you wait for a Volta compatible version of Iray to come out.

Sign In or Register to comment.