Daz day one

atacit_23cd333971atacit_23cd333971 Posts: 98
edited December 1969 in New Users

I am not an artist but I married one and as a stick figure drawing smuck I have always envied my wife's ability to create amazing images. She was the one who pointed me to Daz. I have to say it has been a rough day. As a new comer to this arena with no previous experience I feel I have a unique perspective of this product. I thought that by sharing this maybe I can help the next brave souls that follow me.

First off please have someone.. anyone add a single line to "How to Download and Install DAZ Studio 4 (Windows)" on the main page- Please add a line saying "The software can be downloaded by going to My Account and then Product Library." Why would this basic pathway for the newbie be left out? I wasted so much time just trying to figure out where this was. I see that in the forum this is clearly stated but not all of us go to a forum first. A few lines explaining what the downloads are would be helpful too. I mean what is the Darkside 1.2? and do I need it? Hell I don't know. Does the documentation get worse as it gets more complex?

Second. Why would you supply a beginning tutorial that is done with addons that need to be purchased? I can't learn to ride a bike (with training wheels) when the guy teaching me is in a sports car. I would really like the first tutorial and my first attempt to crawl to be done with the original product I downloaded. Not one that requires me to purchase and install content before I even know what "content" is, lol. Save that for the-Now that we have removed your diaper Tutorial. From my current perspective it seems I would have to invest a few hundred dollars just to get my toes wet and this is even before I know if I would even enjoy it.

These two simple things would have really made a difference for me at least. Just my 2 cents.

Disheartened

Comments

• JimmyC_2009JimmyC_2009 Posts: 8,891
    edited December 1969