How do you use templates? - Yes, I know, I'm a newb

Okay, so I went a little crazy and downloaded tons of free content online to play with in Daz. I got a bunch of templates. They appear to be jpgs. No idea how to use them or what to use them for. Can they be installed as character skins? or would I take them into a modeling program and use them to make a new item? Some of them are really cool, but I'm totally not proficient at modeling yet, so if there's a way to use them as a skin or texture that'd be wicked. Any tips?

Comments

• ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604

Templates are the image of the 3d mesh as laid out by UV coordinates, which you need if you wish to make new textures for the model in question.

• So in this case let's say I have a template of a superman costume? What can I do with it? It won't work as a skin or material, right?

• Chohole said:

Templates are the image of the 3d mesh as laid out by UV coordinates, which you need if you wish to make new textures for the model in question.

Ive got another character that has a file that says textures, but appears to only have .jpg images in it. Does that make sense?

if you look at the template in a paint prgram you will find it looks something like this

• Chohole said:

Ive got another character that has a file that says textures, but appears to only have .jpg images in it. Does that make sense?

So in this most resent example though, if theres a third partytexture I want to use, should there be more than just a jpg file?

edited December 2017

It's a template.  You use the template to make your own textures.   Like this.    http://chohole.ovbi.org/texture_tutorial.htm

JPG images in the texture folder are for applying to the model that the textures came with.

Post edited by Chohole on

So can you show us exactly what it is that you have so we can talk you through this.

• srieschsriesch Posts: 4,241