How Do I Light My Iray Renders? (All Turning Out Dark)

Hi there. I'm a longtime DAZ Studio user (currently using version 4.10 on a Mac Pro, with High Sierria, quad core 3.7 GHz Xeon, dual 2GB FirePro cards, 32GB RAM), but I'm completely new to using IRay for doing my renders (up 'til now, I've only used 3Delight). And on my computer, Iray only uses the CPU, of course, since I only have an AMD graphics card. But, anyway, the quality is lightyears  beyond 3Delight, and I want to learn more about how to properly light and render with Iray. So far, my first scene is turning out rather dark and dismal, even though I think I've lit it pretty thoroughly. I've got three ambient lights, positioned in a triangle around the figure, (two in front on either side, one in the back), and three spotlights above the figure, likewise positioned. Plus, I've got UberEnvironment+ 2 thrown in there, set to to Bouce Light (GI). The ambient lights are set to 2500 lumens. But what I get is what you see in the screenshots. It's like Iray is ignoring the lights. What am I doing wrong? Thaks for any help in advance!

—Andy H.

main-window-1.png
3840 x 2064 - 3M
main-window-2.png
3840 x 2064 - 1M
main-window-3.png
3840 x 2064 - 1M
render-in-progress.png
2575 x 1556 - 3M

Comments

• FishtalesFishtales Posts: 6,043

The 3Delight lights don't work in Iray. The Dome gives the ambient light and all the other lights you add must have Photometrics turned on before they will be used.

• SubGeniusZeroSubGeniusZero Posts: 61
    edited November 2017

Okay, I turned on Photometrics on all three spotlights AND ambient lights, converted all my Surfaces to Daz Uber Iray shaders, and selected "Dome And Scene" in the Iray Environment section. Still turning out dark. What else should I do?

render-in-progress2.png
    2575 x 1556 - 2M
    Post edited by SubGeniusZero on