AE CS6.5 + C4D Lite, thoughts?

laynemoorelaynemoore Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

Word on the wire is that Adobe will release a 6.5 version of After Effects sometime in May 2013. Nothing official from Adobe yet. BUT, for my projects, the idea of an easy way to get 3D into After Effects is pretty appealing. The new version will contain a free version of Cinema 4d Lite and is integrated together. C4D lite can import Collada or .obj, so I'm thinking I can still render in Carrara and use this pipeline in my movies.

Of course, don't take my word for it. I'm new at this. It's why I'm posting - to get your perspective on the possibilities. In terms of what can be done and used with Carrara it sounds like a substantial release.

Does this have any bearing on your workflow? If so I'd like to hear your thoughts. I'm pretty stoked about it.

Comments

• wetcircuitwetcircuit Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Well its a coup for Maxxon. And Adobe is really running out of features to add to Photoshop, so why not a WHOLE OTHER PROGRAM..? uh ok.

No idea how C4D-Lite is limited. So hard to say whether this is a real value or a gimmick. I'm not a fan of post work, but of course many people are.

• Design AcrobatDesign Acrobat Posts: 459
    edited December 1969

Some seem to like the idea, but to me, it's a wait and see.

http://www.videocopilot.net/blog/2013/04/new-after-effects-is-going-to-be-amazing/

• laynemoorelaynemoore Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

It has postponed my purchase of CS6 because I'm hoping it's going to be that good. I know a lot of people are watching to see how it goes. I don't blame them one bit - this stuff is expensive.