Blacksmith3D

What can anybody tell me about this App? I use Photoshop for my 2d work but was wondering if the ability to paint 3d stuff worth while. And for that matter what else can it do?

Comments

• DarwinsMishapDarwinsMishap Posts: 4,074
    edited April 2017

I use it to fix seams (was rather difficult previous to this purchase) and do not make a characer without it.  I also use it for tattoos, masks, make up (especially the eyeliners) as well as torso/head make up like Scion or Damen.  I do not use it for morphing, but it says you can move the mesh around with brushes and export the model for that use, but I haven't been able to use it that way.  It's essential to me for character making.  You can import the mesh into the scene, then your photoshop maps, work on the figure, blend the seams and export the maps that are corrected.

You can also projection map/paint from photos or another figure/prop onto the base you import-but I'm no expert in that either. lol

Post edited by DarwinsMishap on
  • Oso3DOso3D Posts: 14,888

I've been debating options to extend my tools, and there's this 'a bunch of hundred dollar' barrier I keep bouncing off of (for 3d Coat or Zbrush or whatever). I already have Hexagon and Carrara...

I've been looking at Surface Painter, which has a nice 'pay $10/month until you put in enough money to buy it outright' pay system. I REALLY like SP's system for generating textures, even better than some of the stuff I've seen elsewhere.

But Surface Painter is strangely incapable of managing seams, and it's not really a modeling app. (though, again, I have Hexagon and Carrara)

Which is where Blacksmith 3d comes in, with great 'paint across seams' elements, apparently. It's morph tools look like a great way to refine and polish the rough results I usually get out of Carrara. Also $9/month.

So, Hexagon + Carrara cost me about $80, and if I go with the other two apps that's $20 a month or so, vs. $380 for 3d Coat or $800 for Zbrush.