Lighting help?

brettnucklesbrettnuckles Posts: 86
edited February 2017 in Daz Studio Discussion

Hi folks, I'm new to Daz3d and I am desperate for some help here. Here's the situation. I've been toying with creating characters, and I want to light them as reference for an illustration. But I can't understand how the lighting system works. Here's my issue, to illustration:

With no lights added to the scene, my character looks like this in the viewport and render, a lot of ambient light with some extra light coming from the right side. Is that the default lighting or what?:

http://i.imgur.com/9ngWfM0.jpg

Then let's say I add a poitn light, in the viewport it is lighting the left side of his face. But when I render, the lighting looks the same as it did in the first render, but not the right-side lighting is even stronger. What gives? No matter what lighting I add, spotlights, distant lights, point lights in any configuration, all it does is render the scene the same way, with that right-side lighting. What gives?

http://i.imgur.com/JUslAPh.jpg

No matter what character I try to light, no matter what lights i add to the scene, the rendering light is always just this riht-side light and nothign more. 

Post edited by brettnuckles on

Comments

• 1) Are you using Iray?

2) You have posted the same image twice.

• 1) Yep I'm using Iray.

2) I feel silly for posting the same image, oops! I fixed it with the correct images. Thanks for taking the time to respond, I really appreciate it.