Llynara's Loony Bin (WIP Thread)

Comments

• I've got a book idea that is driving me here, too. 

My problem is that my unit is an USFF desktop. The PCI Express slot in it has a mass watt load of 24W - and I think the 750ti is supposed to draw something like 65W max - so I'm probably not maxing out the capabilities of the card. 

To upgrade, I'd basically need a new MB that could take the 32GB of RAM I have and the i5 and a new case. I think that could be done for around $250. Then I could get a DSLI motherboard with PCIe slots that could handle a lot more video card - and things would be good. 

But tearing this one apart to rebuild it seems like a lot of work. 

• 3Diva3Diva Posts: 11,270
    edited January 2017
    Llynara said:

I'm still learning too. Seems like the more lights, the longer render time in 3Delight for sure. In Iray, there seems to be a point of critical mass. Too few lights takes longer and too many as well. There's some kind of sweet spot in the middle, I think. What puzzles me in Iray is that removing the dome seems to make my renders longer in the newest version. Weird. 

For the textures and shaders- yes, they can add up fast. Many people render in layers to reduce times and also for postwork. I've been doing that since I started, since my computers aren't the latest and greatest (they're often free ones I've revived and rebuilt.) 

I'm playing with Esewy's Reduced Texture script and it does a great job of getting those sizes down small enough to go on the graphics card. I like that the new update actually tells you the sizes, so you have some idea what you're working with.

But I think I still need a better graphics card. A better computer too. But I think my computer and my wallet could handle a 1070. Was looking at those last night.