BVH problem

PjotterPjotter Posts: 274
edited December 2016 in Carrara Discussion

I am trying to import a walk cycle and others from BVH. I can do that, but whatever I do, the forward motion (Y) from the hip is always way off. It goes always much faster as it should be, so a lot of foot sliding. I have this with any BVH source, including the biovision files. Also Aniblocks in DS > BVH or as export aniblocks. In DS everything looks perfect, but after export BVH > import in Carrara, it is way off. I have tried every import option I think. And if I run any BVH in BVHacker, all looks fine too. If I import a BVH with a new skeleton, this one is fine. Is Carrara messing up things, or am I missing something.

I have had this problem for many years. Any ideas for solving this, besides editing the import errors all the time. I am stuck.

Post edited by Pjotter on

Comments

• ProPoseProPose Posts: 520
    edited December 2016

I'm no expert, but I find that not all bvh files are created equal.  I have pretty good results with the CMU_Daz version of bvh files. They do work better in Daz, which I then convert to aniblocks and then import those into Carrara.  I use Daz Studio 3.1 and Carrara 8.1.0.153 for the conversions.  Having said that, I still need to "fix" things in Carrara to get them the way I want.

edit to add;

SciFi Funk has a bunch of u-tube vids that can explain the proceedure better than I.

Post edited by ProPose on
  • PjotterPjotter Posts: 274

That is true, but if I import a BVH file to a Genesis figure in DS, it looks fine. But if I import the same BVH file to the same Genesis figure in Carrara, the forward motion (Y) is way off.

• Pjotter said:

That is true, but if I import a BVH file to a Genesis figure in DS, it looks fine. But if I import the same BVH file to the same Genesis figure in Carrara, the forward motion (Y) is way off.