READY - Rendering daz studio scenes as skyballs ( equirectangular / spherical images )

mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
edited July 2015 in Freebies

https://sites.google.com/site/mcasualsdazscripts5/mcjsphericalcam


( if you downloaded the script on July 2 before 9 am eastern,
you may have the version that will fail the stretcher.bat phase
so get the new one that was posted a few minutes later )

the script animates your camera, over, say, 72 frames

you render those 72 frames

this render covered the entire environment sphere

then using the script, the mcjSqueeze and imagemagick utilities, it assembles a mosaic/panorama

You then apply this as the texture on giant spheres and you get great fake backdrops/lighting for your scenes !


i added a few skyBall props as obj files, to be imported using Daz Preset ( scale = 100% )

those spheres have a 1 Km radius

their normals and UV mapings are ready for equirectangular panoramas

this is from the initial posting
it gives a good idea of the way the camera is animated


var cam = Scene.getSelectedNode( 0 );
var xr = cam.getXRotControl();
var yr = cam.getYRotControl();
for( var y = 0; y < 6; y++ )
{
 var XRotAng = 75 - y * 30
 for( var x = 0; x < 12; x++ )
 {
  var YRotAng = x * 30;
  Scene.setFrame( y * 12 + x )
  xr.setValue(XRotAng);
  yr.setValue(YRotAng);
 }
}
Post edited by mCasual on
«134

Comments

  • mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001
    edited December 1969

    Sweet...

    And if you rinse and repeat a couple of times, changing the 'exposure value' up/down, you can then run the results through something like Picturenaut ( http://www.hdrlabs.com/picturenaut/index.html ) and create your own HDRI...

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited December 1969

    mjc1016 said:
    Sweet...

    And if you rinse and repeat a couple of times, changing the 'exposure value' up/down, you can then run the results through something like Picturenaut ( http://www.hdrlabs.com/picturenaut/index.html ) and create your own HDRI...

    thanks i didn't look much into HDR software

    here's the first result
    72 512x512 daz studio renders, deformed by imagemagick and assembled by imagemagick

    the top row of image tiles seems to be mistreated by imagemagick

    and there's problematic stitchings

    but s'not all bad

    montage.jpg
    2000 x 1000 - 348K
  • mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001
    edited December 1969

    Basically all an HDRI is, is a series of underexposed and overexposed versions of the same image stacked in a way that preserves the full dynamic range of the 'real' scene.. This is then usable as light source for rendering because it has 'real' minimum/maximum values...and in the best ones, a bit beyond what our eyes can actually see...and all the color and shadow information at the time the original shot was taken.

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited December 1969

    inside mcjCastle

    hardware render ... so the lighting is ... well openGL'ish maybe if i turn specular off

    montage.jpg
    2000 x 1000 - 203K
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    still in mcjCastle but someone stole the ceilings and floors

    fig 2 - applied on an environment sphere

    even with a 6000x3000 resolution, since it covers a 360 degrees panorama, it's a bit blurry

    inaction.jpg
    512 x 512 - 145K
    montage.jpg
    2000 x 1000 - 255K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    so .... friday

    because i want to figure if it's inevitable or not that the image has cracks ( or bad photo stitchings if you will )

    well actually i suspect it's because my camera's Field of view is not precisely 30 degrees ) when the focal length is 65 mm

    i think it may be 45 degrees when it's 35mm ... i have a long study of the matter .... in the old forum i guess

    to quote myself

    "about the focal lengths - in Daz Studio the focal length is relative to the vertical aperture of the camera for a backplate 35 mm tall"

    so tan( fov / 2 ) = 17.5mm / 65mm

    fov/2 = arctan( 17.5mm / 65mm ) = 15.0684882 degrees

    so FOV = 30.1369763 degrees degrees

    there you have it,

    not 30 degrees

    hence the cracks

    --------

    tan(15 degrees) = 0.26794919243

    17.5mm / 0.26794919243 = 65.3108891 millimeters

    we set the camera Focal length at 65.3108891 mm

    well .... that's not quite it yet

    ( the 3d scene in this case is a 100 meters 24x24x24 Cube centered at 0,0,0 )

    -----


    Fig 2 - when applied on a sphere it looks perfect!!!!!!

    see that's amy 100 metes down and away seen from the center of the cube ... oops, that's the real cube, not the sphere :D


    Fig 3 - uhhhh that's not as glorious as Fig 2 :|

    itsamy2.jpg
    1080 x 1080 - 596K
    itsamy.jpg
    1080 x 1080 - 666K
    montage.jpg
    2000 x 1000 - 553K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    ONE LAST TRY FOR NOW ...

    must be because we're dealing with curved trapezes

    montage.jpg
    2000 x 1000 - 474K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • EsemwyEsemwy Posts: 577
    edited December 1969

    Cool. Overlapping the frames by a bit and using the pano tools in Photoshop or the Gimp would likely get rid of the seams.

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    Esemwy said:
    Cool. Overlapping the frames by a bit and using the pano tools in Photoshop or the Gimp would likely get rid of the seams.

    i think i saw the word "spline" mentioned in the imagemagick deform manual so maybe i'll be able to use it
    instead of the (un)Perspective types of effects

    else i'll write an exe or daz script or something
    there's 18000000 pixels to process so i will need a fast solution
    i never tested the speed of javascript vs daz scripts
    maybe daz script could do it in a minute or 2

    ----

    interesting ( and sad )

    processing 512x512 pixels using a script, 1 multiplication and 1 division

    Daz Studio 1.8 - a bit more than 4 seconds
    Daz Studio 2.3 - a bit less than 4 seconds
    Daz Studio 3 - 15 to 18 seconds
    Daz Studio 4.8 32 bit - about 26 seconds
    Daz Studio 4.7, 4.8 64 bit - about 28 seconds

    since i have 72 tiles to process .... it's out of the question

    mcjSqueeze.exe does it in a fraction of a second but will only support uncompressed bmp and tga files

    trapez.jpg
    800 x 800 - 25K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    OOPS

    Fig 1 contrary to what i was saying
    they ARE straight-edged trapezes

    Fig 2
    but the proper focal length for 30 degrees slices seems to be almost 68 mm

    Fig3
    OOPS AGAIN
    contrary to what i was saying
    they ARE NOT straight-edged trapezes
    horizontaledgey speaking

    Fig4 nah s'ok to treat them as straight edged trapezes ( more facets would yield less distorsion )
    but i must get the complete trapezes ... and i dont quite have that yet

    Fig 6 hmm still not quite figured it

    all of this seems fine

    aspectRatio )     // 1
    farClippingPlane )  // 412805
    focalDistance )    // 360
    focalLength )     // 65.3108901977539
    nearClippingPlane ) // 5
    type )         // 6
    getFieldOfView () ) // 30.0000008348
    getit.jpg
    1728 x 842 - 109K
    argh.jpg
    904 x 717 - 28K
    aaah.jpg
    744 x 734 - 80K
    equa.jpg
    740 x 736 - 78K
    theyare.jpg
    736 x 712 - 133K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    see that?

    as the vertical angle of the camera changes, the same horizontal segment's width changes

    which is not what the 3d simulator in my head was predicting

    a 5 Km diameter sphere

    whatever the diameter, the middle of the vertical edges are closer than the corner vertices

    but the segment doesn't move, the camera doesn't change position .... the camera just rotates ... so what the...

    seethat.gif
    600 x 600 - 191K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • EsemwyEsemwy Posts: 577
    edited December 1969

    Casual said:
    see that?

    as the vertical angle of the camera changes, the same horizontal segment's width changes

    which is not what the 3d simulator in my head was predicting

    a 5 Km diameter sphere

    whatever the diameter, the middle of the vertical edges are closer than the corner vertices

    but the segment doesn't move, the camera doesn't change position .... the camera just rotates ... so what the...


    I had to split the gif and load it as layers in Photoshop before I could see it, but sure enough.

    Maybe the camera doesn't rotate around it's entrance pupil (often mistakenly called the nodal point)? It sure looks like parallax error.

    I can't even imagine why that would be the case, but it's the effect you get in real photography when taking panoramas and the entrance pupil of the camera lens isn't centered over the tripod or within its elevation cradle.

    http://www.vrphotography.com/data/pages/techtutorials/technotes/nodalptalign-tn.html
    http://www.johnhpanos.com/epcalib.htm

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    there's the explanation,

    if we wanted the sphere-vertex pointed to by the orange arrow
    to stay on the right-side-wall of the pyramid ( aka view frustum )
    we'd have to rotate it around an axis perpendicular to the blue line
    but that's not what we have
    we have the camera/pyramid rotating around an axis perpendicular to the green line

    so what i'll do is, i'll mathematically render the vertices of each one of the sphere facets
    make sure they are in the daz studio rendered images
    and use that to cut out the rendered image
    then i stretch it to fit a square-tile

    code for the camera animation, 12 x 6 renders 360 degrees by 180 degrees

    animateCam();
    
    function animateCam()
    {
     var HSlices = 12;
     var VSlices = HSlices / 2;
     var StepAngle = 360 / HSlices; 
     // 30 degrees when we have 12 HSlices 
     var TopAngle = 90 - StepAngle / 2;
     // 75 degreeswhen we have 12 HSlices 
     var cam = Scene.getPrimarySelection();
     if( !cam )
     {
      return;
     }
     var xr = cam.getXRotControl();
     var yr = cam.getYRotControl();
     for( var y = 0; y < VSlices; y++ )
     {
      var XRotAng = TopAngle - y * StepAngle
      for( var x = 0; x < HSlices; x++ )
      {
       var YRotAng = x * StepAngle;
       Scene.setFrame( y * HSlices + x )
       xr.setValue( XRotAng );
       yr.setValue( -YRotAng );
      }
     }
    }
    that_vertex.jpg
    734 x 732 - 92K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    code to "render" the world position of a ball named ball
    as seen from a camera named cam
    which is located at (0,0,0)
    only for square renders
    rendered .... meaning ... a pixel coordinate

    it's interesting to note that
    when you have a camera at 0,0,0 pointing along the Z axis
    "rendering" vertices is simply a matter of scaling the X and Y coordinates of those vertices by a number proportional to their Z coordinate

    var resolution = 512
    
    var cam = Scene.findNodeByLabel( "cam" );
    var ball = Scene.findNodeByLabel( "ball" );
    var p = ball.getWSPos();
    var rot = cam.getWSRot();
    rot.invert();
    p = rot.multVec( p );
    p.normalize()
    focallength = cam.focalLength
    backplate = cam.frameWidth
    scaler = -focallength / p.z
    p.x *= scaler
    p.y *= scaler
    p.z *= scaler
    p.x /= backplate
    p.y /= backplate
    var halfrez = resolution/2
    p.x *= resolution
    p.y *= resolution
    p.x += halfrez
    p.y += halfrez
    debug( p.x, p.y );
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • WandererWanderer Posts: 956
    edited December 1969

    mjc1016 said:
    Sweet...

    And if you rinse and repeat a couple of times, changing the 'exposure value' up/down, you can then run the results through something like Picturenaut ( http://www.hdrlabs.com/picturenaut/index.html ) and create your own HDRI...

    And once again, thanks!

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    markers for the tile image corners

    zu.gif
    512 x 384 - 1M
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    using a 60mm lens we get each sky slice in the render frame

    the script knows how to compute the rendered pixel positions of the triangle/trapeze windows

    stretching those cutouts will be done either by imagemagick or by an exe of mine

    ---

    let's see .... pixel coordinates for the first triangle-trapeze

    px0 256 491
    px1 256 491
    px2 138 35
    px3 374 35

    hmm that does make sense

    ommmmm.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 79K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited December 1969

    TADA !

    i think i just have to tell imagemagick to work harder on the poles of the sphere

    montage.jpg
    2000 x 1000 - 326K
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    TADA Squared !

    using imagemagick to deform the rendered tiles

    BilinearReverse instead of bilinearForward

    it looks perfect ( but probably aint)(but maybe is improvable )

    Fig 2
    remember that this is a 6000x3000 pixels image
    here's a non scaled down 2000x2000 area of the image
    i cant see visible defects so far

    Fig 3 i loaded the GuardHouse that comes with Poser


    here again i rendered in Hardware/OpenGL mode and the way the camera angles interact with Specular surfaces
    created problems - so you'll have to either turn off specularity on large flat surfaces or render in software mode

    animating the camera takes 1 second
    hardware rendering the 72 512x512 tiles takes less than a minute
    generating the batch file for the next phase takes 1 second
    processing the 72 tiles takes a minute or 2 (batch file+imagemagick)
    assembling the mosaic takes a few seconds (batch file+imagemagick)

    ----------
    note that Renderman i.e. 3Delight have the possibility
    to use a spherical render camera

    sphere

    Spherical camera projection. Valid parameters:

    RIB declaration:
    Projection "sphere" "float hsweep" [360] "float vsweep" [180]

    so someone someday should make one for Daz Studio
    if it's not already done

    ----

    but my script solution has the advantage that you can render the Daz Studio tiles in Blender Cycles (

    asasph.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 744K
    guard.jpg
    2000 x 1000 - 291K
    ohyes2.jpg
    2000 x 2000 - 463K
    ohyes.jpg
    2000 x 1000 - 346K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    so the name is chosen mcjSphericalCam.dsa

    you'll be able to create the camera animation in Daz Studio

    and prepare two batch files named cropStretch.bat and montage.bat


    the camera animation can be exported
    so you could render your tiles in Daz Studio 1, 2, 3, 4 Blender, Poser or Carrara


    Once the (usually 72) tiles are rendered

    you can run the batch file cropStretch.bat

    and imagemagick will massage the 72 tiles

    then you can run the batch file montage.bat

    and imagemagick will assemble the (usually 6144x3072) mosaic and save it as a jpeg or png image


    the other popular format will probably be 128 tiles (16x8 ) and a mosaic size of 8192x4096

    wazz.jpg
    1460 x 195 - 88K
    proc.jpg
    1470 x 648 - 85K
    uiui.jpg
    1020 x 570 - 84K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    The script will help you adjust your render camera's focal length

    adjustme.jpg
    567 x 504 - 54K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited December 1969

    aperture science brings you the auto focal length button

    there was cake, it was a blackforest cake, with delicious cherries and chocolate scrapings on top

    aperturescience.jpg
    576 x 536 - 56K
  • josejonesfilmsjosejonesfilms Posts: 2
    edited December 1969

    this is some amazing work guys, how hard is this to implement and try out in Daz3d at the moment?

    Did you also say it could be used in Blender?

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    this is some amazing work guys, how hard is this to implement and try out in Daz3d at the moment?

    Did you also say it could be used in Blender?

    i'm currently working on something else, but i expect that tomorrow
    i'll finish this here

    usage will be
    - get and install imagemagick (not by me )
    - in daz studio, set up your scene
    - create and select your render camera (a normal camera)
    - run the script
    - it creates a 72 or 128 frames camera animation, it's the camera looking in 72 directions
    - render the 72 frames
    - use the script and imagemagick to process the 72 renders
    - use the script/image magick to assemble the 72 images into one big 6000x3000 pixels image

    this image can be applied to a sphere in Daz Studio or to Blender's "World Environment"

    it's just a painted sphere, but when you're at the center, and it gives the illusion that you're in the original daz scene

    and in the case of Blender or Daz Studio IRAY or Daz Studio-Uber-Environment
    that sphere can actually be used as lighting

    adding fake shadows is harder, except in Daz Studio IRAY it's super easy ( but just the floor shadows )

    AmyAtMtWashingtonHotel.png
    1920 x 1080 - 1M
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited December 1969

    expected release June 20th eastern time zone's evening

  • atticanneatticanne Posts: 3,009
    edited December 1969

    Great! I'll be watching for it.

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    i wrote and tested the camera animation exporter for DS 1,2,3,4
    next i do the Poser and Blender camera animation exporters, test them once
    then there's a few odds and ends to do
    then i write the 1 page manual and release !

    unrelated image, Amy and the propeller-skater-skirt

    propell.gif
    600 x 600 - 456K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    doing a 128-tiles render in Blender ... seems to work fine

    and Blender has HDR and EXR and 16 bit formats, so, possibly ( not sure !) one could build true HDR skyballs in Blender

    so it will work like this

    create the camera animation using the mcjSphericalCam script in Daz Studio
    still in Daz Studio mcjSphericalCam, export the camera animation as a blender python script blendcamanim.py
    in Blender, select a camera, open and run blendcamanim.py
    render the 72 or 128 frames (tiles) at a resolution like 512x512
    assemble the rendered tiles into the 8192x4096 mozaic
    using a batch file supplied by the mcjSphericalCam script
    and the freeware image processing utility imagemagick

    ======

    since the image tiles can come from "foreign" sources like Blender, Poser and Carrara
    there will be 2 special buttons named

    "Create foreign mcjMontage.bat"
    and
    "run foreign mcjMontage.bat"

    you'll select the first of the rendered images, the mcjSphericalCam will
    try to figure the tile sizes and column/rows to build the mosaic

    ---------

    fig 2 - mcjSphericalCam generated mcjMontage .bat
    which assembled (using imagemagick) the 8K x 4K pixel mozaic
    That's not the final product !
    but is shows that the camera rotated in the proper direction

    ====

    the script will even be able to handle bizarre sequences like images from browsers

    this is the batch file montage_cbk.bat which produces the mosaic montage_cbk.jpg

    
    "c:/imagemagick/montage.exe"  -geometry +0+0 -tile 12x6 cbk.jpg cbk(1).jpg cbk(2).jpg cbk(3).jpg 
    ....... cbk(70).jpg cbk(71).jpg montage_cbk.jpg
    
    montage.jpg
    2000 x 1000 - 307K
    monki.jpg
    512 x 512 - 34K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 4,601
    edited June 2015

    tada !

    the camera animation was created in Daz Studio, using mcjSphericalCam
    then exported as a Blender python script
    then in blender the camera animation was applied to a camera
    the 128 renders ( tiles) were saved as cbc0000.jpg ... cbc0127.jpg
    an image processing batch file was created in Daz Studio, using mcjSphericalCam
    this batch file was executed, and with the help of imageMagick 128 new cropped-and-stretched tiles were produced
    another image processing batch file was created in Daz Studio, using mcjSphericalCam
    this batch file was executed, and with the help of imageMagick the 8192x4096 spherical panorama was created

    the bottom row tiles will be improved
    ----

    fig2 the spherical panorama applied to a sphere in Daz Studio and a "real figure" no shadows but that can be done with iray, or using Carnite's method https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qo2OVy9tf8E

    ----

    fig 3 - not sure why yet but i had to stretch the sky-sphere vertically to get the white balls to be circular

    ---

    fig 4 - well looks like the problem is my sky-sphere object in daz studio and its UV coordinates
    or, it's inevitable that objects not at far distances break the illusion
    But, mcjSphericalUVs seems to be doing good work

    soooo

    okayokay.jpg
    1000 x 1000 - 141K
    stretch.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 842K
    inawo.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 727K
    out_cbc_montage.jpg
    2000 x 1000 - 230K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • RAMWolffRAMWolff Posts: 10,142
    edited December 1969

    This newest project is coming along very nicely Casual. It will be so cool to make my own HDR files.... Now will I be able to export in the native .hdr format or just a image file?

Sign In or Register to comment.