Animating in IRAY - Lookng for ways to save time

Hi all.

I'm new to 3D animation andI was hoping I may be able to get some advice.

I've downloaded Daz3D and bought a few starter kits. I am looking to make a few short clips using the software. Nothing special, just a few seconds of animation (so around 150 frames for 5 seconds at 30 fps). The trouble is, I'm pushing 40 years old, so will likely have died of old age by the time my computer finishes rendering in IRAY!

I've had the idea that since I'm using a static camera and background, I could just animate the characters (which seems to be MUCH faster), then superimpose them onto a still image for the background. Does anyone know the best programme to do this? I know it's probably a simple question but any help would be appreciated!

Any other ways to cut down on rendering time for animations would also be appreciated!

Thank you!

Comments

• 3WC3WC Posts: 1,094

You might need an Nvidia graphics card with about 12 GB of vram.

• PerttiAPerttiA Posts: 9,414

One thing to consider... When rendering animation, one doesn't need to have large frame size or 'perfect' quality, the 30 times a second changing images will hide the small imperfections, just freeze frame a movie and look at the image quality and compare it to a static image that has been made to be a one frame image.

The animations I have made, have been 800x600px at 24fps and my RTX 3060 12GB has rendered them in 35-50 seconds per frame in Iray.

• You can superimpose your animations onto a static background in After Effects if you have adobe, which is what I do every day, or if you need something free, use DaVinci Resolve. And you can animate at 24FPS as that's what movies are done in. It might not seem like a lot, but saving those six frames adds up real quick timewise.