External GPU for render

Hallo guys!

I am new to Daz3d and started rendering animated figures recently. The quality of HD pictures is astonishing, however rendering on my Intel Core i7 laptop takes litteraly days.
Using External GPU would help, they say, so I would like to ask people here about their own experience.

1. Does using GPU really help? And how much faster does the render goes with it? With other words - is the investing in GPU worthwhile?
2. Does anybody have any advice on which GPU to use with Windows 11 Laptop? Based on own experience?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• RafaelRafael Posts: 124
    edited February 2023

For 3D-generated content, definitely, a decent GPU is the best investment.

The real question is if an external GPU case for USB(?) for a laptop and GPU card work (See what conections you have on your laptop, some cases need Thunderbolt). Sorry. I have not tried one. But I have seen some reviews that state that it does work. Most of the testing is for gaming, which needs additional transfer speed so you have no delay in the signal, which is not necessary for rendering. https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=does+extrernal+GPU+works

Regarding the GPU itself inside the external case, it would be a matter of budget. When you are adding one to a desktop the limitation is the motherboard itself, but I think on an external one that is no limitation. Just check the compatibility with the case itself. To be used with Iray get an Nvidia card. I would look for RTX 3060 or bigger, so the overall investment of the case itself is worth it.

For the specs on the GPU memory, take a look at other posts on the forum. They mention the complexity of the scene, vs RAM itself, etc.

I am not sure if you need to use an external monitor with an external case. You can use one, but I dont know if you need to use it for rendering.

Post edited by Rafael on
  • Thanks for the reply, Rafael!