Lumens

alaltaccalaltacc Posts: 143
edited January 2022 in New Users

Hello!

I know lighting is a complex theme and I'm not hoping to learn how to use it correctly in the forums. I'm watching a lot of tutorials to get a better grasp of it. For the HDRI part I'm already going somewhere, but when it comes to create my own lighting from the light types available inside DAZ it's a different story.

Anyway, my question is very specific: a real-world 100W incandescent (or, being more up-to-date, 20W LED) lamp gives around 1600 lumens of light. So, the newbie here thought that, creating an enclosed space of about 12 square meters and placing a light (I've tried both point and spot lights) of around 1600 lumens in the ceiling, the place would be as lit as my bedroom would with a 100W incandescent lamp. The reality was a very dark, almost impossible to see environment, where the render would get almost nothing.

Even after putting four 100,000 lumens spots, one in each corner looking to the opposite corner, and opening up their emission radius, I still had very dark parts and lots of shadows. That would be 400.000 lumens in the real world, or about 250 100W incandescent lamps, enough to bring down a small powerplant. cheeky I've tried point lights also, with the same results.

What am I doing wrong? Is my correlation between real-world lumens and Daz-lumens off?

Thanks!

Post edited by alaltacc on

Comments

• FishtalesFishtales Posts: 6,039

You have to use Tone Mapping too. The camera doesn't 'see' like your eyes so you have to use Tone Mapping settings to compensate. If you walk into a room with a camera and just take a picture it wont be the same as you see with your eyes so you have to set the camera to 'see' the room as your eyes do.

• cridgitcridgit Posts: 1,757
    edited May 2022

Redacted

Post edited by cridgit on
    edited January 2022

I have closeup pictures using one spot at 1500 lumen and the lighting is fine.

Post edited by Fishtales on