A Simple building...how?

That Other PersonaThat Other Persona Posts: 381
edited September 2013 in Carrara Discussion

OK. I'm new at this and am trying to get a grasp of everything, but fog sets in from time to time!

I want to make a simple building (a shop with a large front window and a door to the side) of about the same quality as the House2 object.

- the walls need some thickness
- How do I cut holes in the walls for the windows?
- I want to make a frame around the window
- the window will be clear so the camera can look into the shop

I have tried extruding from a plane but controlling it was tough. Is there a simpler way?

Are there any tutorials on making buildings?

(I come from SketchUp and could do this easily there, but I need to make an animation of people shopping)

I tried making parts in SU and importing, but they come in in different sizes... would like to be able to do everything in Carrara.

Post edited by That Other Persona on

Comments

• WendyLuvsCatzWendyLuvsCatz Posts: 37,796
    edited December 1969

Maybe create a grid mesh, delete the verts for windows and doors and add thickness?
    you can tessellate for more detail to delete openings.
    I would model parts myself and join it all up in assembly room.

• JonstarkJonstark Posts: 2,738
    edited December 1969

While I know exactly how to do this using the Architools plugin, I'm assuming you're asking how to do it in the regular Carrara vertex modeler :)

I'm really new to learning modeling in Carrara, so hopefully someone will chime in with better answers for you, but I'll venture a few guesses as to how I might go about it.