How do I "decode" files via RTEncoder?

launoklaunok Posts: 792
edited December 1969 in The Commons

I have no idea how to "decode" the files via the RTEncoder which I have just downloaded. I am trying to follow the included manual but can't get it to work. I have never used the RTEncoder before today!

When I get to key file names via the encoder I have no idea what names to put in there. If the file name is for instance pass_agathion.rte it turned automatilly to agathion.obj when I press next button, but this file doesn't work (file doesn't exist is message I am getting). If I chance it to the original .rte file doesn't work either. What name should I put so that it recognize the mentioned file? I have also came across a file name during this process under RTEncoder cp_pass.txt which I have to save. I have saved this file (cp_pass.txt) to a new directory in the same folder I have saved the other files but the file doesn't appear at all!

I am trying to follow the instructions on the following link as well as RTEncoder manual.

http://poser-ism.vis.ne.jp/cplogin.html

I am not good with following instructions and it seems I am missing something along the line! :( This is for freebies on the above site but one needs a password and can only obtain this via the encoder.

Any help is appreciated.

Comments

• icprncssicprncss Posts: 3,694
    edited December 2013

First you need to download and install a version of RTE encoder.

You need to own the product that you are attempting to decode the product from.

Launch RTE encoder.

Browse for the rte file you are trying to decode and place that in the decode box.

Browse for the obj file that the product is encoded against. If you are trying to use the first product on the page: you place the rte file in the decode box. Browse for the Rosy Cheeks Lina obj file (found in the Runtime>Geometries folder). Place the obj file in the box you need to decode.

Click ok. If you have the correct obj, the rte file should decode.