Changing light settings in pre-packaged scenes

Hello,

I'm just getting started, and I thought I'd work with some pre-packaged scenes as starters. I went out to the shop and found a city-scape I liked. (Contemporary Buildings Hyper Kit).

I found a scene I liked and started rendering it. No background sky.  [cancel] So I poked around and merged in a sky scene. Rendered again.. and perfect. A nice early morning scene. So far so good.

Now, I want to use the same scene, same camera angle etcetera, but have the "sunlight" come from directly overhead.  Or, Remove sunlight all together for a dramatic night scene.

I looked and looked and can not find a way to move or turn off this light source.

Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks in advance.

Comments

• If you want a night scene shift to Scene Only in the Render settings but you will need some
    light source in the Scene so its not pitch black. Best is to use Linear Point lights and spot lights.
    You find those under menu "Create "

Regarding changing dirction of the sun you will need the Distant light and play around with it.
    Also found under Create

• scorpioscorpio Posts: 8,312

There are a few rendering options in DS HDRI's give good outside lighting and can be turned to alter the direction of the sun, the default render settings includes one, HDR haven has some nice free ones

https://hdrihaven.com/.

You can change the HDRI in the render settings under environment just browse to where you saved your HDRIs.

There is also the sun and sky setting where time date location can be altered look for this under Environment Mode change it to sun sky only to get the extra settings.

render settings2.JPG
    370 x 711 - 61K
  • scorpio said:

There are a few rendering options in DS HDRI's give good outside lighting and can be turned to alter the direction of the sun, the default render settings includes one, HDR haven has some nice free ones

https://hdrihaven.com/.