(SOLVED) Iray Shader Mixer help needed to create tricky PBR Metallicity Base shader

soup-sammichsoup-sammich Posts: 31

The goal: To create a PBR Metallicity Base (hereafter PBR-MB) shader with an extra color channel.  The Base Color setting needs to control either the surface of the object, or the backface.  The additional color channel needs to control the opposing part of the mesh.

Let me start off by saying that I'm a Shader Mixer NOOB but, I've spent the better part of today (and about 6 hours yesterday) researching, watching tutorials, searching forums and the Internet, and experimenting.  Comments about "spend some time searching" will not be appreciated UNLESS they include a link to an answer to any of my questions.  (Forgive my turseness, but I've been searching/learning for 18-ish hours and already wrote this out once, but due to some interesting issues with attaching a file, lost it all.  I'm not looking forward to typing this all out again, but I need help from you)

This forum was quite helpful in the early stages, but diverted from my goal pretty quickly and left me with a lot of unanswered quesitons: https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/242936/an-iray-shader-mixer-cookbook

This doc was a little helpful, but it's ultimately useless: http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/artzone/pub/software/shadermixer/start

I found the following image and some closer help here: https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/246076/any-way-to-do-a-two-sided-shader-material-in-iray

-------------------------------------------------Posted by aaráribel caađo-------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------