HOW to use 3Delight Stand Alone Render Engine (tutorial)

2»

Comments

• StratDragonStratDragon Posts: 3,167
    edited December 1969

I'm having a problem with my old Toshiba Laptop, when rendering in DAZ Studio 4.6. I set up a simple portrait of G2F, with my own self done lighting, and my own Bryce made backdrop. This machine is a satellite A 505 Toshiba with Windows 7 Home Premium. It is 64 bit, 4GB RAM, i3 CORE Dual Core processor, and I am not sure about my graphics card. When rendering the image I mentioned it overheats and shuts down my computer to protect the circuitry. Toshiba is good about that.

As my machine has just a Dual Core processor, would the Standalone 3Delight Render engine still work? I am new to the idea of rendering outside of DAZ Studio, as I have always rendered within the app. I also have Bryce 7.1 Pro, but it runs only as a 32 bit app, and the renders are done in a different way.

I do have a suggestion about the backdrop problem. Create a Primitive plane and have its upper side face the camera. Import your backdrop image onto the surface of that plane. If your plane has only one polygon, it will not use much memory except for the image that is on it. The purpose of doing this, is so that you will have a backdrop object rather than just the image. This also gets around the aspect ratio stretch problem, and if you have reflective surfaces in your scene, they will reflect whatever image you have on your backdrop plane. To let light pass though the plane, you can turn of shadow casting for the plane in the Parameters panel. I place several of these around my scene to get spectacular effects.

3Delight standalone bypasses Daz Studio, It saves RAM but its not going to cut down on the heat for the most part.

If your computer is shutting down when it renders it could be a ventilation problem.
    Do you have a lot of non-powered USB devices connected to this laptop, meaning they don't plug into the wall and they grab power from the computer?